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NOW COMES, Michelle R. Bastian (hereinafter “Ms. Bastian™) and the Agent Services Division
of the N.C. Department of Insurance (hereinafter “Agent Services Division™), and hereby voluntarily and
knowingly enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement™).

WHEREAS, the Agent Services Division has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of
the insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing insurance agents; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bastian currently holds a Non-Resident Producer’s license with authority for
Accident & Health or Sickness, and Med Supp/Long Term Care lines of insurance issued by the Agent
Services Division; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by another
governmental agency in this State, including enforcement actions taken against the producer by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter;
and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bastian applied for a license with the Indiana Department of Insurance on or
about August 22, 2022 and the Indiana Department of Insurance denied Ms. Bastian’s application for a
Non-Resident Producer’s license, effective February 7, 2023, for failure to report the administrative action
taken by the Louisiana Department of Insurance and for failure to disclose her criminal record on her
application; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bastian failed to report the administrative action taken by the Indiana Department
of Insurance within 30 days after the final disposition of that matter as required by North Carolina General
Statute § 58-33-32(k), and therefore, was in violation thereof: and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the Commissioner
may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license issued under Article 58 of
the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law of this or any other state, violating
any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s regulator; and



WHEREAS, N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-70 provides that whenever the Commissioner has reason to
believe that any person has violated any law that would subject the license or certification of that person to
suspension or revocation, the Commissioner is authorized, in lieu of a hearing, to negotiate a mutually
acceptable agreement as to the status of the person’s license or certificate or to any civil penalty or
restitution; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bastian has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matters referenced in
this Agreement on behalf of herself, and the Agent Services Division has agreed not to pursue additional
civil ramifications, including penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on these matters against
Ms. Bastian; and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve these matters by consent before
the Agent Services Division initiates an administrative hearing and have reached a mutually agreeable
resolution of these matters as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out
herein, Ms. Bastian and the Department hereby agree to the following:

I. Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Ms. Bastian shall pay a civil penalty of $250.00
to the Agent Services Division. The form of payment shall be by certified check, cashier’s check,
or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil penalty shall be payable
to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Ms. Bastian shall remit the civil penalty by
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Agent Services Division along with a copy of this
signed Agreement. The civil penalty and the signed Agreement must be received by the Department
no later than August 21, 2023. The civil penalty shall be subject to disbursement in accordance
with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina Constitution for the benefit of
public schools.

2. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Agent Services Division’s disciplinary power in
any future examination of Ms. Bastian or in any other complaints involving Ms. Bastian.

3. Ms. Bastian enters into this Agreement, on behalf of herself, freely and voluntarily and with the
knowledge of her right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Ms. Bastian understands
she may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this Agreement.

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and effect of an
Order of the Commissioner. Ms. Bastian understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that
a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of the Commissioner.

5. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential by the
Agent Services Division. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Agents Services Division to Ms. Bastian shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken against
her. The Agent Services Division is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with third parties
upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The Agent Services
Division, upon request, will routinely provide a copy of the voluntary settlement agreement to
companies that have appointed the licensee.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and conditions
stated herein.



Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the Agent Services Division has issued an
occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you to report this
administrative action to it. The Agent Services Division cannot give you legal advice as to the
specific reporting requirements of other state or federal regulators.
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