NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA ' BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER OF
COUNTY OF WAKE INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF ORDER AND FINAL AGENCY

THE LICENSURE OF DECISION

MARKAYE A. BLAKE Docket Number: 1809

THIS MATTER was heard on November 16, 2016 by the undersigned Hearing Officer,
designated by the North Carolina Commissioner of Insurance (“Commissioner”) pursuant to
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-55.

An Amended Notice of Administrative Hearing advising Respondent Markaye A. Blake
(“Respondent”) of the time, date and place of the hearing was duly issued and served on
Respondent at the last address she listed with Petitioner Agent Services Division (“ASD”) of the
North Carolina Department of Insurance (“NCDOI”). The Amended Notice of Administrative
Hearing was received and signed for by Respondent at her address on October 20, 2016.

Respondent, proceeding pro se, failed to appear at the hearing.

ASD was present at the hearing and was represented by Terence D. Friedman, Assistant
Attorney General.

ASD offered into evidence Exhibits 1 through 12, which were admitted into evidence.

Any finding of fact contained in this order and final agency decision that also constitutes
a conclusion of law is hereby adopted as a conclusion of law. Likewise, any conclusion of law
contained in this final agency decision and order that constitutes a finding of fact is hereby
adopted as a finding of fact.

After careful consideration of the evidence and arguments presented, and based on the
record as a whole, the Hearing Officer hereby makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent has a North Carolina resident insurance producer’s license with lines of
authority for Property and Casualty (“License”). Respondent failed to appear at the
hearing,




On or about January 30, 2007, Respondent, who was previously known as Markaye A.
Fields, pleaded guilty in State v. Fields, 06-CR-12041 (Cabarrus Co., NC 2006) to one

"~ misdemeanor count of possession of drug paraphernalia and one misdemeanor count of
simple possession of a Schedule IV controlled substance (together, “2007 Convictions™).

In May 2009, in the course of applying for her License, Respondent was required to
answer the following Licensee Background Question: “Have you ever been convicted of
a crime, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with
committing a crime?” Respondent responded “No” to the question.

Additionally, on May 21, 2009, in completing the examination to obtain her License,
Respondent was again required to answer the following question: “Have you ever been
convicted of a crime, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged
with committing a crime?” Respondent again responded “No” to the question.

On November 23, 2015, the Louisiana Department of Insurance fined Respondent
$150.00 for failing to identify her 2007 Convictions in applying for a non-resident
insurance producer’s license in that state (“Louisiana Action”). Respondent did not
appeal the Louisiana Action, and it became final 30 days later.

Respondent never advised the Commissioner or otherwise advised the NCDOI of the
Louisiana Action.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

This matter is properly before the Commissioner, and he has jurisdiction over the parties
and the subject matter.

Respondent was properly served with the Amended Notice of Administrative Hearing in
this matter.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1), one of the causes for which the
Commissioner may revoke an insurance producer’s license is for providing materially
incorrect, misleading, incomplete or materially untrue information in his or her license
application.

By failing to identify her 2007 Convictions in response to the Licensee Background
Question and in completing her licensing examination, Respondent provided materially
incorrect and materially untrue information in her license application within the meaning
of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1). Consequently, the Hearing Officer finds that
Respondent’s License should be revoked under N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1).




Additionally, N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k) requires an insurance producer to report to
the Commissioner “any administrative action” taken against the producer in another state
“within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter,” including by sending a “copy of
the order or consent order and any other information filed in the proceeding necessary to
describe the action.” The Louisiana Action is an administrative action taken against
Respondent within the meaning of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k).

Pursuant to N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(2), one of the causes for which the
Commissioner may revoke a license is for violating the insurance law of North Carolina.
By failing to report the Louisiana Action to the Commissioner within 30 days of its final
disposition, Respondent violated N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k), which is a North
Carolina insurance law within the meaning of N. C. Gen. Stat, § 58-33-46(a)(2).
Consequently, the Hearing Officer finds that Respondent’s License should be revoked
under N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(2).

The evidence presented at the hearing, in the form of testimony and the exhibits
introduced, is sufficient to support a revocation of Respondent’s license.

Additionally, pursuant to 11 NCAC 1.0423(a)(1), if a party fails to appear at a hearing or
fails to comply with an interlocutory order of the hearing officer, the hearing officer may
find that the allegations of or the issues set out in the notice of hearing or other pleading
may be taken as true or deemed to be proved without further evidence. The allegations
contained in the Amended Notice of Hearing are taken as true pursuant to 11 NCAC
1.0423(a)(1), and this provides additional support for the revocation of Respondent’s
license.

The Respondent’s License should be revoked.
ORDER

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is ORDERED that

Respondent’s License is hereby revoked.

1Z
This the /@ = day of January, 2017,

Stewart Johnso!, Hearing Officer

N.C. Department of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201

APPEAL RIGHTS: This Order may be appealed to Superior Court within 30 days of receipt of

the same as set out in Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes.
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that I have this day served a copy of the foregoing document by
delivering separate, identical copies of the same in the manner specified below, addressed as
follows:

Markaye Ashlee Blake
221 Grandview Dr.
Statesville, NC 28677
~ Via First Class U.S. Mail, postage prepaid

and

Markaye Ashlee Blake,

c/o Carlos E. Jane, Esq.

418 W 5th Ave

Lexington, NC 27292

Via First Class U.S. Mail, postage prepaid

Assistant Attorney General
N.C. State Bar Number 25088
N. C. Department of Justice
P.O. Box 629

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629
(919) 716-6610






