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NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLIN
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER
COUNTY OF WAKE OF INSURANCE
IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSURE VOLUNTARY SETTLEMENT
OF CAINE & WEINER COMPANY, INC. AGREEMENT

PERMIT NUMBER: 3825

NOW COME Caine & Weiner Company, Inc. ("Collection Agency") and the North Carolina
Department of Insurance (“Department”), and hereby enter into the following Voluntary
Settlement Agreement (“Agreement”):

WHEREAS, Collection Agency is a corporation organized and existing under the laws of the
State of California; and

WHEREAS, the Department has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of the

provisions of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General Statutes applicable to collection agencies
and the collection agency business; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina law requires a collection agency to obtain and maintain a separate
permit issued by the Department for each location at which the agency desires to carry on a
collection agency business; and

WHEREAS, Collection Agency has one location that requires a permit from the Department; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §58-70-5 and N.C. Gen. Stat. §58-70-35, the
Department issued a permit to Collection Agency that expired on June 30, 2014; and

WHEREAS., N.C. Gen. Stat. §58-70-10 provides that any person, firm, corporation, or
association desiring to renew a permit issued pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §58-70-5 shall make

application to the Commissioner of Insurance no less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of
the then current permit; and

WHEREAS, Collection Agency failed to submit the collection agency permit renewal
application and fee required by the June 1, 2014 permit renewal deadline in violation of N.C.
Gen. Stat. §58-70-10; and

WHEREAS, Collection Agency has now completed and submitted its permit renewal application
with supporting documents and the required renewal fee; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N. C. Gen. Stat. §58-2-70(g), the Commissioner of Insurance and the
Department have the express authority to negotiate “a mutually acceptable agreement with any
person as to the status of the person’s license or certificate or as to any civil penalty or
restitution;” and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement desire to resolve this matter by agreement to avoid
NCDOI administrative action regarding this matter; and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement have reached a mutually agreeable resolution of this
matter as set out in this Agreement;

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for, and in consideration of the promises and agreements set
out herein, the Department and Collection Agency hereby agree to the following:

. Immediately upon signing this agreement, Collection Agency shall pay a civil penalty of
One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) to the Department. The form of payment shall be certified
check, cashier’s check or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil
penalty shall be payable to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Collection Agency
shall remit the civil penalty by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Department along
with the signed original of this agreement. The civil penalty and the signed Agreement must be
received by the Department no later than October 10, 2014. The civil penalty shall be subject to
disbursement in accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina
Constitution for the benefit of the public schools.

2. Collection Agency, and all of its present and future locations, shall comply with all
provisions of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General Statutes and Title 11 of the North
Carolina Administrative Code that are applicable to it.

3. Collection Agency enters into this Agreement freely and voluntarily and with knowledge
of its right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Collection Agency understands that
it may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this Agreement.

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and
effect of an Order of the Commissioner of Insurance. Collection Agency understands that N. C.
Gen. Stat. §58-70-40(c)(6) provides that a collection agency’s permit may be revoked if a
partner, proprietor or officer of the collection agency has violated or refused to comply with an
Order of the Commissioner.

5. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Department’s disciplinary power in any
future examination of Collection Agency, or in any other complaints involving Collection
Agency. In the event that Collection Agency or any of its present or future locations fail to
comply with this Agreement or otherwise fail to comply with the laws and rules applicable

to it, the Department may take any administrative or legal action it is authorized to take.




6. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and is not confidential. The
Department is free to disclose the contents of this agreement to third parties upon request or
pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. Any and all permits issued by the
Department to Collection Agency shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken against the
licensee following the execution of this Agreement.

g8 This Agreement shall become effective when signed by Collection Agency and the
Department.
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NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

By:

Angela K. Fo

Date: 9” 50—/3/
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