N DEPARTMENT
of INSURANCE AGENT SERVICES

MIKE CAUSEY, COMMISSIONER Tel 919.807.6800 Fax 866.565.7854

To: All North Carolina Insurance Producers and Adjusters

From: North Carolina Department of Insurance, Agent Services Division
Date: August 7, 2024

RE: Repeal of N.C. General Statute § 58-33-26(p)

The purpose of this memo is to inform you about a recent legislative change. N.C. General
Statute § 58-33-26(p) has been repealed effective July 2, 2024. The statute stated:

“) An individual shall not simultaneonsly hold an insurance producer license with casualty, personal lines, or
property lines of anthority and an adjuster's license in this State. An individual who holds an insurance producer
license with casualty, personal lines, or property lines of authority may apply for an adjuster license without having to
take the adjuster examination in G.S. 58-33-30(e) if the individual applies for the adjuster license within 60 days
after surrendering an insurance producer license with casualty, personal lines, or property lines of authority. An
individual who holds an adjuster license may apply for an insurance producer license with casualty, personal lines, or
property lines of anthority without having to take the casualty, personal lines, or property insurance producer
examination in G.S. 58-33-30(e) if the individual applies for an insurance producer license with casualty, personal
lines, or property lines of authority within 60 days after surrendering the adjuster license. (2001-203, s. 6; 2007-507,
5. 1;2009-383, 5. 1, 2009-566, ss. 2, 3; 202246, 5. 13(a).)”

As a result of this legislative change, it is now permissible to simultaneously hold an adjuster
license and an insurance producer license with casualty, personal lines, or property lines of
authority.

Further, there is no longer an examination exception if switching from an adjuster license to an
insurance producer license or from an insurance producer license to an adjuster license.

If you want to add the adjuster license in North Carolina, you must meet the examination
requirement set forth in G.S. 58-33-30(e). If you want to add an additional line of authority for
casualty, personal lines, or property to your North Carolina insurance producer license, you
must meet the fingerprint and background check, pre-licensing course(s), and examination
requirements for that line of authority. License applications are entered online at NIPR.com.

Please note that you may receive electronic notification indicating that a license must be surrendered in order to issue a
new license or line of authority. Please disregard the notification until the system messaging bas been updated.

Best Regards,
Agent Services Division
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