

Tel 919.807.6800 Fax 919.715.3794

Collection Agency Renewal Application Checklist

It is important to note, any person, firm, corporation or association conducting business, within the State of NC, in any of these areas without a license/permit shall be guilty of a Class I felony. For more information relating to the exact laws and regulations cited in the North Carolina General Statutes, refer to NCGS Chapter 58/Article 70. For your convenience, we suggest having the following items readily available in order to assist in the completion of the electronic application for license renewal as a North Carolina collection agency.

 $\sqrt{10}$ New and/or Updated Personal Questionnaires (Form DOI-5CA) for all owners, governing members, and officers

- $\sqrt{1}$ Trust Account Bank Statement (1st three pages of statement dated no earlier than March)
- $\sqrt{}$ Corporate Financial Statements
 - ◊ Financials should be dated end of licensee's corporate fiscal/recent calendar year
 - ◊ Prepared in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP)
 - ◊ *Reflects a minimum \$5,000 positive net equity*

SUBMIT ONE (1) OF THE FOLLOWING:

- ♦ Audited financials prepared by CPA firm or independent CPA (attestation <u>not</u> required)
- ◊ Reviewed financials prepared by CPA firm or independent CPA (attestation not required)
- ◊ Compilation financials prepared by CPA firm or independent CPA (attestation required)
- ◊ Internally prepared corporate financials (attestation required)
- Licensee's parent company corporate financials -<u>AND</u>- the parent company's written guarantee of the financial performance of the collection agency
- $\sqrt{10}$ Surety Bonds (NEW and/or Continuation Certificate/Rider) can be electronic copies, it can be emailed to northcarolinalicensingoffice@pearson.com or attached on the renewal application.
 - NEW Surety Bond with Power of Attorney
 - ♦ Expiration date should not occur before June 30th
 - ◊ Domestic Renewal Bond:
 - ♦ Bond #1 (Form CA-D1), plus Bond Calculation Worksheet
 - Foreign Renewal Bonds:
 - Sond #1 (Form CA-F1), plus Bond Calculation Worksheet; and
 - ♦ Bond #2 (Form CA-F2) for \$10,000
 - ♦ Alien Renewal Bonds:
 - O Bond #1 (Form CA-A1), plus Bond Calculation Worksheet; and
 - ♦ Bond #2 (Form CA-A2) for \$20,000
 - Octave Continuation Certificate/Rider with Power of Attorney

♦ Expiration date should not occur before June 30th

- $\sqrt{}$ Bond Calculation Worksheet
 - Determines amount of Renewal Bond #1; bond is typically the amount reflected as "Bond Collection Basis"-Line E.
 Refer to worksheet for baseline minimum and maximum requirements.
- $\sqrt{}$ Non-refundable Statutory Licensing + Processing Fee (payable to NC Department of Insurance)
 - ◊ Payment Options: Credit Card or Check
 - ◊ Fees: \$1,038 (\$1,000/application + \$38/processing)
- √ Mailing Address
 - Payment & Other Documents
 - Overnight Delivery: Bank of America Lockbox Services, Lockbox #742175, 6000 Feldwood Road, College Park, GA 30349
 - ♦ US Postal Service: NC/State of DOI, P.O. Box 742175, Atlanta, GA 30374-2175
 - Original Bonds
 - NC Dept. of Insurance, Agent Services Division, ATTN: NIBE Team, 1204 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1204