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Effective October 1, 2025, pre-licensing is no longer required to be completed before taking the state 
license examination for the following lines of authority (LOAs): 

 Life    Accident & Health/Sickness 

 Property   Casualty 

 Personal Lines   Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care 

The Agent Services Division of the North Carolina Department of Insurance (NCDOI) reviews and 
approves all Pre-Licensing (PLE) School Approval applications.  Once a school is approved, it is added to 
the listing of approved PLE Schools that is posted on the North Carolina page of Pearson Vue’s website, 
www.pearsonvue.com/nc/insurance.  (Pearson Vue is the test vendor for the licensing examinations.)   

There are two PLE School listings: 

 Approved Providers of Insurance Producer Pre-licensing Classroom Courses 
Approved Providers of Insurance Producer Pre-licensing Online Courses 

 
Providers should notify the Agent Services Division of changes to the following: 
Program Director     Student Contact Name 
Email Address      Telephone number(s)  
Website Address     Mailing Address 
Physical Location Address    PLE courses offered 
Method of Instruction      Withdrawal from Offering NC PLE  

 
The Agent Services Division will update the PLE School listing and forward to Pearson Vue for posting on 
the website. 
 
To remain current on any changes to the Statutes, Administrative Code and/or general procedures, 
please check the “Hot Topics” section of the website www.ncdoi.gov.  
 
11 NCAC 6A. 0700 is the section of the North Carolina Administrative Code that governs insurance Pre-
licensing Providers in NC. 
 
PLE Schools should submit an application for approval at least 60 days before the first presentation.  
PLE Schools are not subject to an initial application fee or a renewal fee. 
 
PLE School applications are reviewed and approved or denied by the NCDOI Agent Services Division.  
Incomplete submissions may delay the review process and may result in denial. A PLE School Approval 
application is considered complete when all the necessary materials are received.  
 
Please allow at least 60 days for application review.  If additional information is requested, please 
submit within 60 days of date of the request or the application will be denied. Once the additional 
information is received, please allow at least 30 days for review. 

http://www.pearsonvue.com/nc/insurance
http://www.ncdoi.gov/


GENERAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 
 

1. PLE Schools must teach PLE pursuant to the examination content outlines which are updated 
in the Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide each year. Contact Pearson Vue at 1-
800-274-0668 to request a hard copy of the candidate guide or download an electronic 
version from www.pearsonvue.com/nc/insurance. 

 
2. Per 11 NCAC 06A .0704 (d)(3), pre-licensing courses shall be for instructional purposes only 

and not for promoting the interests of or recruiting employees for any particular insurance 
agency or company. 

 
3. PLE courses are offered as either a classroom course or a correspondence course via the 

workbook method or the internet (online).   
 

4. PLE school applications must be submitted at least 60 days before the first course date. An 
incomplete submission will delay the approval/disapproval of the application.  Providers 
applying for online approval must submit a user ID and password for access to the online 
course content. 

 
5. The school shall designate one person as the Program Director. The Program Director shall be 

responsible for administrative matters such as recruiting, evaluating and certifying the 
qualifications of instructors, developing programs, scheduling of classes, advertising, 
maintaining facilities and equipment, recordkeeping and supervising the pre-licensing 
program.  

 
6. Per 11 NCAC 06A .0703(d), Program Directors shall be approved by the Commissioner upon 

finding that the applicant is recommended by the president/chief operating officer of the 
sponsoring educational institution, company, agency or association; has submitted all 
information required by the Commissioner; possesses good character and reputation; and 
one of the following qualifications:  

(1) Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has at least two years of experience as an 
instructor of insurance or as an educational administrator;  

(2) Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has at least six years of experience in the 
insurance industry with a minimum of two years of experience in insurance 
management;  

(3) Is a full-time college or faculty member who regularly teaches risk management or 
insurance courses; or 

(4) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to 
the qualifications described in Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Rule. 

 A person desiring approval as Program Director shall make written application. 
 

An approved program director shall inform the Commissioner of any change in program 
affiliation by filing an application for Program Director approval prior to directing a new 
program.  
 
The program director is responsible for the actions of the approved school's instructors. 

 

http://www.pearsonvue.com/nc/insurance


7. Per 11 NCAC 06A .0702(l), a classroom school's facilities and equipment shall have been 
found by appropriate local code inspectors to be in compliance with all applicable local, state 
and federal laws and regulations regarding safety, sanitation, and access by persons with 
disabilities. 

 
8. A school shall notify the Commissioner of any change of course location or schedule 

information no fewer than five (5) business days before the change.  Notification of the 
changes shall be in writing. 

 
9. With the exception of correspondence or Internet (online) courses, a school shall file with the 

Commissioner information giving exact dates, times, locations, and instructor name for each 
scheduled pre-licensing course.  This information may be submitted either at the beginning 
of each quarter or semester or no later than one week before the first class meeting of each 
pre-licensing course. 

 
10. Classroom schools shall retain the following material on file at one location for at least five 

(5) years: 
(1)  class schedules; 
(2)  advertisements; 
(3)  bulletins, catalogues, and other official publications; 
(4)  grade reports, showing a numeric grade for each student; 
(5)  attendance records; 
(6)  master copy of each final course examination, indicating the answer key, the school 
name, course location, course dates and name of instructor; 
(7)  list of student names and their license identifying numbers for each course, and the 
name of the instructor; and 
(8)  student registration information 

All files shall be made available to the Commissioner upon request. 
 

11. Correspondence and Internet schools shall retain the following material on file at one 
location for at least five (5) years: 

(1)  advertisements; 
(2)  bulletins, catalogues and other official publications; 
(3)  grade reports; 
(4)  list of student names and their license identifying numbers for each course, and the 
name of the instructor; 
(5)  student registration information that shall be obtained prior to the distribution of 
course material; and  
(6)  student records to validate the integrity of the security measures utilized by the 
provider 
(7) disinterested third party examination affidavits 
(8) attendance reports (student sign-in via internet, electronic time date stamps on time 
student spends on course, etc.) 

All files shall be made available to the Commissioner upon request. 
 

12. Choice of classroom course text is at the discretion of each school.  The Department does not 
endorse textbooks or programs for vendors promoting them for sale. 



13. Text books used in correspondence or internet (online) courses shall be approved by the 
Commissioner before use.  No text book used in a correspondence course shall be approved 
unless it contains instruction on the general principles of insurance, federal and North 
Carolina law, and any other topics relevant to the license. The Examination Content Outlines 
cover the topics that may or may not appear as questions on the state license examinations. 
Correspondence course text books should cover these topics. 

 
14. A school shall notify the Commissioner in writing of a change in textbook. 
 
Pre-Licensing Not Required 
 
1) An applicant may apply for an Insurance Producer license consisting of one or more lines of 

authority.  Effective October 1, 2025, these lines of authority no longer require pre-
licensing before sitting for a state license examination: 

 
Life 
Accident and Health and/or sickness 
Property 
Casualty 
Personal Lines 
Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care 
 

2) Applicants for a Title, Auto Physical Damage Appraiser, Adjuster, Public Adjuster, Crop Hail 
Adjuster or Surplus Lines license are not required to complete pre-licensing education 
before sitting for an examination. 
 

Instructor Qualifications 
 

Per 11 NCAC 6A .0705(a), instructors shall have the following qualifications, which shall be 
verified by the instructor’s pre-licensing school: 
(1) Accident and health or sickness; Medicare supplement insurance and long-term care 

insurance: 
(A) Registered Health Underwriter (RHU);  
(B) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS);  
(C) Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC);  
(D) Health Insurance Associate (HIA);  
(E) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or 

explaining policies covering accident and health or sickness insurance, Medicare 
supplement insurance or long-term care insurance;   

(F) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or  
(G) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent 

to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section. 



 
(2) Life insurance and annuities: 

(A) Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU);  
(B) Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC);  
(C) Fellow Life Management Institute (FLMI);  
(D) Life Underwriter Training Council Fellow (LUTCF);  
(E) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS); 
(F) Certified Financial Planner (CFP): 
(G) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or 

explaining life insurance policies, or annuities;  
(H) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or 
(I) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent 

to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section. 
 

(3) Property insurance, casualty insurance and personal lines:  
(A) Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter (CPCU);  
(B) Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI);   
(C) Associate in Risk Management (ARM);  
(D) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC);  
(E) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or 

explaining property insurance, casualty insurance, or personal lines policies; 
(F) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or  
(G) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent 

to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section. 

An applicant for instructor shall be determined qualified by the pre-licensing education school 
for each course taught in the pre-licensing curriculum. 

Per NCAC 06A.0703(j), the Program Director is responsible for the actions of the approved 
school’s instructors. 

 
CLASSROOM COURSES (IN-PERSON AND LIVE WERBINAR) – ATTENDANCE AND EXAM REQUIREMENTS 

 
1. Class meetings shall be limited to a maximum of eight hours of instruction on any given day. 

 
2. Classroom courses shall have fixed beginning and ending dates and may not be conducted on an 

open-entry/open-exit basis. 
 

3. All pre-licensing classroom school courses shall be taught by instructors who meet the 
qualifications described in 11 NCAC 6A. 0705. 
 

4. The first thirty (30) minutes of the course should be spent introducing the Insurance Licensing 
Examination Candidate Guide. The instructor should cover the following topics: Exam 
Reservations, Exam Fees, Exam Day, Pearson VUE Test Center Policies and Screening Questions.  
The appropriate content outline should also be covered. 



5. Schools shall establish and enforce academic standards for course completion that ensure 
students receiving a passing grade possess knowledge and understanding of the subject areas 
prescribed for the course. In any course for which college credit is awarded, the passing grade 
for such course shall be the same as the grade that is considered passing under the school's 
uniform grading system. 
 

6.   Schools shall conduct a final comprehensive course examination that covers all subject areas 
prescribed by the Commissioner for each course.  Schools may allow a student to make up a 
missed examination or to retake a failed examination in accordance with policies adopted by the 
school.  No final examination shall be given until the student has completed the course. 
 

7. The final comprehensive course examination must incorporate the following: 
• An exam answer key.  
• Multiple choice items must have a minimum of four options. 
• Multiple-choice items must have only one correct response. 
• “True/False” questions and questions with answer choices such as “I, II and III”, “IV 

only”, “II and III only “A and B”, “B only”, “A, B and D are correct”, ”All of the Above” 
and/or “None of the Above”, etc. are not allowable exam answers. 

 
CORRESPONDENCE COURSES (WORKBOOK METHOD AND INTERNET) – ATTENDANCE AND EXAM 
REQUIREMENTS 

1. Correspondence courses shall not have fixed beginning and ending dates and shall be conducted 
on an open-entry basis. 
 

2. All pre-licensing correspondence courses shall be monitored by instructors who meet the 
qualifications.  
 

3. An instructor shall be designated for each correspondence course student.  Students must 
communicate with the assigned instructor a minimum of two (2) times.  The form of 
communication may be via person-to-person conferences, via telephone conversations, or via 
email or other forms of validated internet communication.  Instructors must: 

1) Review the course content and explain use of materials and books 
2) Inform students to obtain and review the Insurance Licensing Examination 

Candidate Guide 
3) Establish a schedule of studies appropriate for the student 
4) Explain course final examination and grading procedures 
5) Review workbooks, computer records, etc. to verify the student has completed all 

assignments 
 

4. One (1) “instructional hour” = 50 minutes. 
 

5. Schools must be able to verify students have completed the required number of instructional 
hours. 

 
6. Schools shall conduct a final comprehensive course examination that covers all subject areas 

prescribed by the Commissioner for each course.  Schools may allow a student to make up a 



missed examination or to retake a failed examination in accordance with policies adopted by the 
school.  No final examination shall be given until the student has completed the course. 
 

Sanctions for Noncompliance 
1) In accordance with 11 NCAC 06A.0702(d), the Commissioner shall deny, revoke, suspend, or 

terminate approval of any school upon finding that: 

(1) the school has refused or failed to comply with any of the provisions of this Section;  
(2) any school official or instructor has obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any 
manner or form, licensing examination questions; or 
(3) the school has refused or failed to submit information or properly completed forms 
prescribed by the Commissioner. 
 

2) When a school's approval is discontinued, the procedure for reinstatement is to apply as a new 
school, with a statement of the reasons that the school is now eligible for reconsideration. 

 
3) In accordance with 11 NCAC 06A.0703(f), the Commissioner shall deny, revoke, suspend, or 

terminate approval of any program director upon finding that: 

(1) The program director fails to meet the criteria for approval provided by this Rule;  
(2) The program director has failed to comply with any provisions of this Section;  
(3) The program director's employment has been terminated by any sponsoring educational 

institution/company;  
(4) The program director provided false information to the Commissioner when making 

application for approval;  
(5) The program director has at any time had an insurance license denied, suspended or revoked 

by the North Carolina Department of Insurance or any other insurance department, or has 
ever been required to return a license while under investigation; or 

(6) The program director has obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any manner or 
form, examination questions. 

 
4) When a program director's approval is discontinued, the procedure for reinstatement is to apply 

as a new program director, with a statement of the reasons that he is now eligible for 
reconsideration.  The Commissioner may require an investigation before new approval is 
granted. 



Pre-licensing Correspondence Course Procedures 
 
PLE Provider Duties: 

Providers shall comply with the following for individuals taking a correspondence course (workbook 
or internet): 

1. Assign a qualified instructor to each student.  
2. Inform the student that he/she must obtain an Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate 

Guide, which explains in detail the requirements for licensure and provides the steps to obtain 
a license. 

3. Ensure each student communicates with the assigned instructor a minimum of two (2) times.  
(The form of communication may be via person to person conferences, via telephone 
conversations, via email or other forms of validated internet communication.) The PLE provider 
shall be able to provide documentation of the communication sessions. 

 
Instructor Initial Duties: 

1. Inform the student that he/she must obtain an Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate 
Guide. Review the Candidate Guide and fingerprint requirements. 

2. Explain in detail the requirements for licensure and review the steps to obtain the license.  
The instructor shall ensure that the applicant understands to follow the licensure steps in 
order.  Otherwise, there will be a delay in the license decision.   

3. Check student course materials to ensure that they are complete and current. 
4. Review course content. 
5. Explain use of materials, books, online courses and security compliance requirements to ensure 

that the applicant is the person taking the online course. 
6.  Complete any required forms or applications. 
7. Establish a schedule of study appropriate for the student. 
8. Ensure that the student has the necessary information to contact the instructor to have 

questions answered during course study. 
9. Explain the course final examination, grading procedures, and ensure that student understands 

that the instructor will submit the final examination to the provider for grading. 
10. Answer student questions on an ongoing basis. 
11. Review workbooks, computer records, etc. (these may vary according to the method of 

correspondence chosen by the student) with the student to ensure that the student has 
completed all assignments.   

12. Conduct a review of the course to identify any course content which may require additional 
study. 

13.  Explain processing of final examination and notification by the provider of results if applicable. 
14.  Monitor the student while he or she takes the final course examination in an approved testing 

environment.  A disinterested third party shall administer the final course examination. 
15. Complete the student’s certification form and ensure that both the instructor’s and the 

student’s signatures are executed. The instructor should attach the certification to the final 
examination answer sheet and send to the provider for grading. 
 



Instructor Follow-Up Duties: 
 

1.  After receiving written notice of examination results from the correspondence course provider, 
notify the student of the results of the final course examination. 

2.  Submit to the program director, within ten (10) business days of receipt of examination results, 
the student’s name and student identifier number assigned by the school, and a copy of the 
student’s passing or failing notice provided by the correspondence course provider. 

 



APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 
PLE Schools are not subject to an initial application fee or a renewal fee. 

Classroom (In-Person and Live Webinar) Course Submissions (first-time applicants): 

1) Submit Application for School Approval (2 pages; no application fee) 

2) Submit Application for Program Director Approval (2 pages) 

3) Submit a copy of the final comprehensive examination with answer key for each course requesting approval. 

4). Instructors must meet the qualifications listed in 11 NCAC 06A .0705. Submit documentation demonstrating 
instructor qualifications (resume, certifications/professional designations, degree in Insurance, etc.) 

5) Applicants for live webinar courses must provide the following: 

• Verify the course is offered as an interactive webinar/virtual classroom course and is not pre-recorded. 

• Advise how ongoing monitoring (class attendance, polling questions, etc.) would occur throughout the live 
streaming of the course to ensure that students are actively listening and participating in the course.  

• Agree to submit attendance records if requested by the Department. 

• Advise how the students will take the final course examination and what security measures are in place. 

• Advise how the final course examination will be administered and the security measures. 

Choice of classroom course textbook is at the discretion of each school. Therefore, it is not necessary to submit a 
copy.  

 
Correspondence (Workbook Method) or Internet (Online) Course Submissions (first-time applicants): 

1) Submit Application for School Approval (2 pages; no application fee) 

2) Submit Application for Program Director Approval (2 pages) 

3) Textbooks used for correspondence (workbook method) courses must be approved before use. Submit a copy 
of the textbook. 

4) If it is an online course and a separate textbook is used, it must be approved before use. Submit a copy of the 
textbook. 

5) For correspondence courses (workbook method), submit a copy of the final comprehensive examination with 
answer key. 

6) For online courses, submit the username and password for the Department to have full access to review the 
online course material and the final examination. 

7) A qualified instructor shall be designated for each correspondence or Internet (online) course student. 
Instructors must meet the qualifications listed in 11 NCAC 06A .0705. Submit documentation demonstrating 
instructor qualifications (resume, certifications/professional designations, degree in Insurance, etc.) 

 
Approved Pre-licensing Schools adding on courses must complete the “Application for School Approval” and submit 
the required documentation. 
 
Email completed applications to asd@ncdoi.gov or mail to: 
 

North Carolina Department of Insurance 
Agent Services Division 

1204 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1204 

mailto:asd@ncdoi.gov


 

 
North Carolina Department of Insurance 

APPLICATION FOR SCHOOL APPROVAL 
TO CONDUCT INSURANCE PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION 

 
1. Name of School       2.  Telephone  (       ) 
 
 
 
3. School Address (Complete Mailing Address) 
 
 
 
4. School Web Address _______________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
5. Student Contact Name________________________________________   5.  Email Address_____________________________________ 
 
 
6. Type of School (Indicate One) 
 
 College/University _____  Community College _____  Agency _____  Trade Association _____ 
 
 Insurance Company _____  Privately Owned - Open to the Public _____ 
 
 
 
7. Type of Course(s)    _____ Classroom   _____ Webinar  _____ Correspondence  _____ Online 
 
 
8. Course(s) Requesting Approval {Select Course(s) and Provide all Requested Information} 
 
 Life      Requesting Approval ______  ______ 
             (yes)      (no) 

Accident and Health or Sickness   Requesting Approval ______  ______ 
             (yes)      (no) 
 Property      Requesting Approval ______  ______ 
             (yes)      (no) 
 Casualty     Requesting Approval ______  ______ 
             (yes)      (no) 
 Personal Lines    Requesting Approval ______  ______ 
             (yes)      (no) 
 Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care Requesting Approval ______  ______ 
             (yes)      (no) 
 
 
9. I hereby certify that we will make the Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide available to insurance licensing candidates 

enrolled in our pre-licensing education program. 
 
 _________________________________________ 
 Signature of Program Director 
 
AS-PL-4 (rev. 10-25) 
 
 



 
North Carolina Department of Insurance 

APPLICATION FOR SCHOOL APPROVAL (PAGE 2) 
 

10. I hereby certify that we will comply with the Federal Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) in general and specifically comply with 
sections of the ADA regarding classroom accessibility and auxiliary aides. 

 
__________________________________________________ 

 Signature of Program Director 
 
 
11. Location(s) where classroom course(s) are to be conducted (provide name of facility and address).  If additional space is necessary, 

attach additional sheet(s). 
 
 (1)  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 (2)  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
12. Full name of your Instructor(s) and the course(s) to be conducted.  If additional space is necessary, attach additional sheet(s). 
 
 (1)  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 (2)  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 (3)  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
13. Name of School/Company President or Chief Academic/Operating Officer 
 
 ________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________ 
 Name (Print or Type)       (Title) 
 
 ________________________________________________________________ (______)_____________________________ 
 Business Address (P. O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)     Telephone Number 
 
 
14. Certification of Program Director 
 
 I certify that I have read the Commissioner’s Administrative Requirements regarding schools, courses, instructors, etc. and that the 

school and its instructors will comply fully with the Commissioner’s requirements relating to the conduct of insurance pre-licensing 
courses. 

 
 _______________________________________________________  _____________________________________________ 
 Name (Print or Type)      Title 
 
 _______________________________________________________  
 Signature 

 
AS-PL-4 (rev. 10-25) 



 

 
North Carolina Department of Insurance 

APPLICATION FOR PROGRAM DIRECTOR APPROVAL 
 
 
1. Full Name       
 
 
 
2. Residence Address      Phone  (         ) 
 
 
 
 
3. Business Address      Phone  (         ) 
 
 
 
 
4. Name and Street Address of Sponsoring Institution/Company 
 
 
 
5. Qualifications (Check One) 
 
 a. ____ Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has two or more years of experience as an instructor of insurance or as an 

education administrator; or 
 
 b. ____ Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has at least six years of experience in the insurance industry with at least two years 

               in insurance management; or 
 
 c. ____ Full-time college or faculty member who regularly teaches risk management or insurance courses; or 
 
 d. ____ Education and experience equivalent to a. and b. to qualify as Program Director. 
 
 
6. If the answer to either question is “Yes”, attach a statement providing complete details. 
 
 6a. Have you ever been denied an insurance license or had an insurance license or any other professional/occupational license  

 suspended, revoked, or surrendered in North Carolina or elsewhere?      ________ YES      _______ NO 
 
 6b. Have you ever been convicted of any criminal offense (other than minor traffic offenses)? ________ YES      _______ NO 
 
 
7. Recommendation of School/Company President or Chief Academic/Operating Officer 
 
 I hereby recommend that this applicant be approved as Program Director for the pre-licensing program being conducted by the 

sponsoring institution/company named in item #4 of this approval application form. 
 
 ________________________________________________    ___________________________ 
 Signature          Date 
 
ASD-PD (10-25) 
 



 
North Carolina Department of Insurance 

APPLICATION FOR PROGRAM DIRECTOR APPROVAL (PAGE2) 
 

8. Education 
 

 8a. College or University 
Name of School Did You 

Graduate? 
Type of Degree Dates Attended 

    

    

    

 
 8b. Professional Development Courses (e.g. courses sponsored by IIANC, CAPIA, or similar professional organizations.  Do not 
  list company/franchise/in-service training courses). 

Title of Course Name of School Subject Area(s) Covered Number of Classroom 
Hours 

    

    

    

 
 8c. College Insurance Courses 

Title of Course Name of School Subject Area(s) Covered Number of Credit Hours 
Sem. Hrs        Qtr. hrs 

     

     

     

 
9. Insurance-Related Work Experience (If necessary, attach additional sheets) 
 
 Employer _______________________________________________________         Length of Employment  _____ yrs.  ______ months 

 Position Title and Description of Duties  _____________________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 
10. Signature of Applicant 
 
 I certify that the information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that any 

omission, inaccuracy, or failure to make full disclosure constitutes ground for denial of approval or for suspension/revocation of 
approval if granted. 

 
 _____________________    ______________________________________________________ 
 Date      Signature 
 
ASD-PD (10-25) 



PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION 
Schedule Reporting Form 

 
In accordance with 11 NCAC 6A.0702(o), Insurance Pre-licensing Education classroom course schedule(s) may be 
submitted at the beginning of each quarter or semester but must be submitted no later than one week prior to the first 
class meeting. 
 
NAME OF SCHOOL: 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
PROGRAM DIRECTOR (Signature): 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Instructor: 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Course(s): ____  Life ____  Accident & Health or Sickness ____  Property ____  Casualty  

____  Personal Lines ____  Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care 
 
Physical location of class site: 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SCHEDULE 
 

Beginning Date: ___________________________________      Ending Date: _____________________________________ 
 

DAY  BEGINNING         AND       ENDING HOUR  AMOUNT OF TIME SCHEDULED FOR: 
      Breaks(s)  Lunch  Exam(s) 

WEEK 1           
MON   TO        
TUE   TO        
WED   TO        
THU   TO        
FRI   TO        
SAT   TO        
SUN   TO        
           
  NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
  INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  

 
DAY  BEGINNING         AND       ENDING HOUR  AMOUNT OF TIME SCHEDULED FOR: 
      Breaks(s)  Lunch  Exam(s) 

WEEK 2           
MON   TO        
TUE   TO        
WED   TO        
THU   TO        
FRI   TO        
SAT   TO        
SUN   TO        
           
  NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
  INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  

 
AS-PL-SRF (rev 10-25) 
 
 



WEEK 3           
MON   TO        
TUE   TO        
WED   TO        
THU   TO        
FRI   TO        
SAT   TO        
SUN   TO        
           
  NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
  INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  

 
 

WEEK 4 

          

MON   TO        
TUE   TO        
WED   TO        
THU   TO        
FRI   TO        
SAT   TO        
SUN   TO        
           
  NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
  INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
 
 
  WEEK 5 

          

MON   TO        
TUE   TO        
WED   TO        
THU   TO        
FRI   TO        
SAT   TO        
SUN   TO        
           
   

NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: 
  hr(s)  min(s)  

  INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
  
 
  WEEK 6 

          

MON   TO        
TUE   TO        
WED   TO        
THU   TO        
FRI   TO        
SAT   TO        
SUN   TO        
           
  NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
  INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:   hr(s)  min(s)  
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Q. What are students required to bring to the test site? 

A. Students are required to bring 2 forms of acceptable identification (e.g., government-issued driver license and 

signed, non-expired debit or credit card)  

The name on the identification and the name on the test registration must match. Otherwise, the student will not 

be allowed to test. Name and address changes are not allowed at the test site unless it is strictly a typo. 

Q. I have a student who will have to answer “yes” to one of the screening questions. Could the student request to 

know if he/she would be issued a license prior to sitting for the state examination? 

A. No, the student will have to complete the licensure process (application, examination and fingerprints), submit 

the documentation for the “yes” answer and await a decision on approval or disapproval of the license application. 

Q. What license is required to apply for a Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care license? 

A. The student must hold an Accident & Health and/or Sickness license to receive a Medicare Supplement/Long 

Term Care license after applying and passing the state examination. 

Q. Does the score report given after the licensing examination indicate the number of questions answered wrong or 

correctly? 

A. No, the score report will either state “Pass” or “Fail”. For students who fail an examination, the score report has 

a scaled numeric score and provides the area(s) from the content outline that the student did not test well. 

Q. I have student who requires special accommodations for the licensing examination due to a disability.  How 

would this student go about requesting those accommodations? 

A. Accommodations for a licensing examination are considered on a case-by-case basis. To request 

accommodations with the appropriate documentation, go to the following webpage: 

http://www.pearsonvue.com/accommodations/ 

At the bottom of the page click on “How to request test accommodations?”. On the “Select Exam Program” page, 

click on the letter “N”, then scroll down to and click on “North Carolina Insurance”. 

Q. Are accommodations for the licensing examination available for a student where English is a second language?   

A. Yes, the student can request additional time to complete the examination. The student should complete the 

“English as a Second Language (ESL) Request Form” found in the North Carolina Insurance Licensing Examination 

Candidate Guide and submit it with supporting documentation to Pearson Vue. 

http://www.pearsonvue.com/accommodations/

