
 

 

 

 
 
 
 

2010 Resident Public Adjuster Fingerprint Submission Instructions 
 

The following are the fingerprint submission requirements for North Carolina resident individual and business 
entity public adjuster license applicants pursuant to North Carolina G.S. 58-33A-15.  
 
The fingerprint submission requirements are effective 7/1/2010 for all resident applicants for a public adjuster 
license in North Carolina and are set forth in North Carolina Administrative Code 11 NCAC 06A.0906.  
 
  Applicants for an individual public adjuster license must electronically submit their  

fingerprints for a state and federal criminal history background check following the instructions listed below.  
  
 Applicants for a business entity public adjuster license must electronically submit  

fingerprints for EACH key person of the business entity for a state and federal criminal history background      
check following the instructions listed below. A “key person” is considered an owner, partner, officer or 
director of the business entity, or member or manager of a limited liability company. 
 

Please follow these steps:   
 
1. Print out BOTH the SBI Electronic Fingerprint Submission Release of Information form and the SBI 

Authority for Release of Information form posted on the Department’s website under applications and forms 
for insurance licensing.  

 
2. Fully complete and sign the SBI Authority for Release of Information form for each individual who is 

required to submit fingerprints.  
 

3. Fingerprints must be submitted electronically for a criminal record history check by bringing the SBI 
Electronic Fingerprint Submission Release of Information form to a law enforcement agency authorized to 
submit fingerprints electronically to the State Bureau of Investigations (SBI) via live scan.  If you are not 
aware of a local agency that submits live scan fingerprints, please refer to the NC county locations posted 
on the NCDOI website under applications and forms for insurance licensing.  This form MUST be brought to 
the live scan location to be completed otherwise they will not be able to electronically submit the 
fingerprints. At the discretion of the live scan location, there may be a fee charged for providing this 
fingerprinting service. After the fingerprints are electronically scanned and the SBI Electronic Fingerprint 
Submission Release of Information form is certified by a law enforcement official at the live scan location, 
this form MUST be submitted within 30 days of submission of the public adjuster application.   

 
4. REQUIRED SUBMISSIONS TO AGENT SERVICES DIVISION  

• Individual Public Adjusters  
Submit the required SBI forms to Agent Services Division via the following 2 preferred
Fax to 919-715-3794 

 methods: 

Email to asd@ncdoi.gov (Scan the documents and attach to email.) 
 
A $38.00 criminal record history check fee must be paid for each individual public adjuster applicant 
required to submit fingerprints. This fee should be paid during the NIPR electronic public adjuster 
application process. If this fee is not collected via NIPR and fingerprints are required, the fee must be 
submitted to the Agent Services Division along with the SBI forms. Mail forms and check or money 
order made payable to NC Department of Insurance to NCDOI-Agent Services Division, 1204 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1204.  Cash payments are not accepted. 
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• Key Person(s) of Public Adjuster Business Entities – Submit the required SBI forms AND the $38.00 
criminal record history check fee for EACH key person of the public adjuster business entity to Agent 
Services Division. Mail forms and check or money order made payable to NC Department of Insurance 
to NCDOI-Agent Services Division, 1204 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1204.  Cash 
payments are not accepted. 
 
 

A public adjuster application will not be considered complete until ALL of the above fingerprint requirements 
are submitted to the Agent Services Division.  

 
Please contact Agent Services Division at (919) 807-6800 if you have any questions.  


