North Carolina Department of Insurance
Mike Causey, Commissioner

AMENDED BULLETIN

NUMBER 19-B-06

To: All Property Insurance Companies Licensed in North Carolina
Date: November 6, 2019
Subiject: Activation of NCDOI Disaster Mediation Program

Disaster Declaration (FEMA DR-4465) and NCDOI Mediation Program Activation Resulting from North
Carolina Hurricane Dorian for the incident period of September 1-9, 2019 and continuing.

https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4465

Insurance Commissioner Mike Causey has ordered activation of NCDOI’s Disaster Mediation Program,
following the President’s October 4, 2019 declaration of disaster for North Carolina in Beaufort, Brunswick,
Camden, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Greene, Hoke, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, New
Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington and
Wayne County;

North Carolina General Statutes §858-44-70 thru 858-44-120 established a non-adversarial mediation program
(“Program”) to facilitate the effective, fair, and timely resolution of insurance claims arising out of damages to
residential property as the result of a disaster. The Program becomes available to first party claimants only if
1) a state of disaster has been proclaimed (by the Governor or the President) for all or part of North Carolina,
within 60 days following the event, and 2) the Commissioner of Insurance subsequently orders Program
activation. NCDOI has contracted with the American Arbitration Association (to serve as Program
administrator. Please immediately review these statutes in their entirety to ensure your company’s full

compliance.

“Right to Mediate” Notice Required for Certain Disaster-Related Claim Disputes

North Carolina General Statute 858-44-80 requires insurers to notify all first-party disaster claimants in
identified counties of their right to mediate “disputed claims” (as defined in 858-44-75). In order for a disputed
claim to be eligible for the Program, the claimant and insurance company must be at least $1,500 apart in their
settlement negotiation.

A “Right to Mediate” notice template is attached. To access Program information online, please visit the
NCDOI website’s Disaster Mediation page at:

https://www.ncdoi.gov/disaster/after-storm/disaster-mediation

Questions about this Bulletin can be directed to Kathy Shortt, Sr. Deputy Commissioner of NCDOI’s Consumer
Services Division, at (919) 814-9874 or Kathy.Shortt@ncdoi.gov.
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Template for “Right to Mediate” Notice

[Date]

[Policyholder Name and Address]

{Policy number and/or Claim Number]

NOTIFICATION OF THE RIGHT TO MEDIATE
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY DISASTER INSURANCE CLAIM

The General Assembly of North Carolina has enacted a law to facilitate fair and timely handling
of residential property insurance claims arising out of disasters. The law gives you the right to
attend a mediation conference with your insurer in order to settle any dispute you have with
your insurer about your claim. An independent mediator, who has no connection with your
insurer, will be in charge of the mediation conference.

The mediator does not decide the dispute but will facilitate discussion/negotiation between the
parties. There is no cost to you for this service.

“Disputed Claim”

For the purpose of this mediation program, a “disputed claim” does not mean a claim denied
because of exclusions, terms or conditions in the policy, or because the policy was not in force
at the time of loss. “Disputed claim” also does not mean a claim that the insurer has reported
to the Department of Insurance’s Investigations Division due to suspected insurance fraud.

Eligibility
To be eligible for a mediation conference:
e You must have a disputed claim arising from a declared state of disaster in which the
insurer has denied payment in whole or in part.
e The dispute must be over the insurer’s findings on the cause of loss or the amount of
the loss.
e The disputed amount (difference in position between you and your insurer) must be at
least $1,500 unless both parties agree to mediate a smaller dispute.



Requesting a Mediation Session

e You must request mediation within 60 days of your claim being denied, or your right to
mediation is lost. Failure to request mediation does not prejudice any other legal right
or remedy that you may have to pursue your claim. To request mediation, you may
contact the Mediation Administrator at:

American Arbitration Association
ATTN: NC Insurance Mediation
1301 Atwood Avenue, Suite 211N
Johnston, Rl 02919

P: 866-293-4053

F: 866-644-0234

https://www.adr.org/sites/default/files/document repository/MediationRequestForm.pdf

e Your request must include the following information, if known:

o

o O O O

(@]

Your claim number and policy number.

Your name, mailing address, and (if different) property location.

A daytime telephone number where you can be reached.

A brief description of the nature of the dispute.

The name of your insurance company and the name, address and phone number
of a contact person (if other than you) for scheduling mediation.

Information on any other policies of insurance that may provide coverage of the
insured property for named perils such as flood, earthquake or windstorm.

e Once your request for mediation is received, the Administrator will contact you to
schedule your mediation conference, and to provide further information such as the
location of the mediation session, how to prepare, etc. The Administrator will select the
mediator.

If you need further information

If you have any questions or need additional information concerning this notification, you may

contact:

<insert name and address of insurer, contact person/division and phone number>
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