



MEMORANDUM

To: Licensed Viatical Settlement Providers

From: Rebecca Hill, Supervisor Life and Health Division

Date: January 19, 2017

RE: Viatical Settlement Provider License Renewal and Annual Report

In accordance with North Carolina General Statute 58-58-210, no person shall act as, offer to act as, or hold him or herself out as a viatical settlement provider in this State without a valid viatical settlement provider licensed issued by the Commissioner. Licenses shall be renewed annually. The viatical settlement license renewal application can be downloaded from the Department's website at: http://www.ncdoi.com/lh/LH_Viatical.aspx

The licensing process must be completed by June 1, therefore; please have your Provider License Renewal application in by May 1, in order to facilitate and complete our review by this date.

Please carefully review the most recent renewal application filed with this office before completing your renewal application and proceed as follows:

1. If no changes have occurred, have the President of your company indicate so in a cover letter to be notarized and attached to the viatical settlement provider application. Include a letter of good standing or evidence of a current viatical settlement provider license from your domestic state with the completed viatical settlement provider license application form VRAPP.03.25.09. Also include a list of the company's current Officers and Directors, even if there has not been a change from last year.

2. If changes have occurred since your company's most recent renewal/anniversary application filing, note these changes in a cover letter and complete the appropriate viatical settlement provider license renewal application form VRAAPP.03.25.09 and transmittal form VTRN.08.15.09 to record and file these changes with us.

3. Annual reports are due by June 1, pursuant to Title 11 NCAC 12.1714. To facilitate consistency in this report please use the Viatical Settlement Provider Report found in the NAIC Model Regulation with form numbers VSP 002 and VSP 003. You only need to report for North Carolina and not all states.

1201 Mail Service Center | Raleigh, NC 27699-1201 | tel: 919.807.6055 fax: 919.715.3547 | www.ncdoi.com An Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer The viatical settlement provider license fee is five hundred (\$500) dollars. All information required for your company's renewal/anniversary must accompany the required non-refundable \$500 filing fee and be returned to my attention.

If information is filed as CONFIDENTIAL OR TRADE SECRET remember to follow our guidelines at: <u>http://www.ncdoi.com/LH/Documents/Licensing/TradeSecrets.pdf</u>

Also, you are reminded if contract forms, applications, or disclosure statements are revised, they must be filed and approved prior to use. If you use an application that has been prepared by licensed viatical settlement broker, it is your responsibility to insure his or her forms have been approved by this Department. If they have not been approved then the viator must complete your application that has been approved.

Effective January 1, 2010, NCGS 58-2-69(b) added the requirement that an applicant provide an email address to which the Commissioner can send electronic notifications and other messages. If this email is different than the person who will be filing the renewal application, please provide this information for our records.

Include the contact person's e-mail address and a self-addressed postage paid envelope to facilitate the return of your license. **NOTE**, this year we prefer the Viatical Settlement Renewals and Annual reports to be sent in electronically to the L&H Inbox. Unfortunately, at this time we are unable to accept electronic transfer or electronic payment of the \$500 filing fee, so that should still be mailed to our office with a cover letter that the license renewal application has been sent electronically, if that is the case.

Filing Fees can be sent by US Mail to:

NCDOI/Life & Health Division 1201 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1201

<u>Or Overnight to:</u> NCDOI/Life & Health Division 430 N. Salisbury St. Raleigh, NC 27603

The License Renewal Application and Annual Report can be sent electronically to: LHinbox@ncdoi.gov

If you have any questions, you may contact me at 919-807-6060 or Rebecca.hill@ncdoi.gov