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FORM C-201 
CAPTIVE INSURER ANNUAL FILINGS CHECKLIST 

NORTH CAROLINA CAPTIVE INSURANCE 
COMPANIES 

(Excluding Association and Special Purpose Financial Captive Insurers  
and Risk Retention Groups) 

 
REQUIRED ANNUAL FILINGS FOR NORTH 

CAROLINA CAPTIVE INSURERS 
SUBMISSION 

FORMAT 
DUE DATE 

Direct Economic Impact of North Carolina 
Captive Insurance Companies (Form C-202, 
Supplement to the CARF) 

Electronically By 
email or through the 
NCDOI’s Online Filing 

System in Excel 
(.xlsx) format 

By 3/1 
 

Note: All captive insurance companies 
must submit Form C-202, including 

those which have obtained an 
exemption from the CARF. 

Direct Economic Impact - Service Provider 
(Form C-203) 

Electronically By 
email or through the 
NCDOI’s Online Filing 

System in Excel 
(.xlsx) format 

By 3/1 
Note: The filing is voluntary by 
each approved captive manager or 
other service provider. The 
information will be helpful to the 
Department in evaluating the 
economic impact of the North 
Carolina captive insurance industry. 

North Carolina Captive Insurance Company 
Annual Report (“CARF” Form C- 200) 

Electronically By 
email or through the 
NCDOI’s Online Filing 

System 

Prior to 3/15 (except branch captive 
insurers) * 

 
Exception: See note about CARF due date 
for industrial, pure, and special purpose 
captive insurers with a non-December 31st 

fiscal year-end** 

Annual Audit Report (Including Certified Public 
Accountant’s Affirmation) 

Electronically By 
email or through the 
NCDOI’s Online Filing 

System 

6/30*** 

Statement of Actuarial Opinion Electronically By 
email or through the 
NCDOI’s Online Filing 

System 

6/30*** 

Premium Tax Return and Tax Payment (North 
Carolina Department of Revenue) 

Refer to Instructions 
of the NC 

Department of 
Revenue 

3/15 

Inactive Captive Insurers (Form C-207)   Electronically By 
email or through 

the NCDOI’s Online 
Filing System 

3/15**** 
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North Carolina Secretary of State’s 
Office Annual Report and Fee  

Refer to Instructions 
of the NC 

Department of the 
Secretary of State 

All captive insurers - refer to 
instructions of the NC Department of 
the Secretary of State 

 

* Prior to March 1, branch captive insurers must file copies of all reports and statements required to be filed 

under the laws of the jurisdiction in which it is formed, verified by the oath of two of its executive officers.  

If the Commissioner is satisfied with the information filed by the branch captive insurer, the Commissioner 

may waive the requirement for the completion of the CARF by the branch captive insurer. 

**   If the captive insurer’s fiscal year-end is not December 31st, the due date is 75 days after the captive 
insurer’s fiscal year-end. 

*** If the captive insurer’s fiscal year-end is not December 31st, the due date is 180 days after the captive 

insurer’s fiscal year-end. 
****Prior to March 15, each inactive captive insurer must submit Form C-207 to provide current contact 

information and to demonstrate it is not conducting business and possesses funding to meet its required 

minimum capital.   

 
 

 NOTES AND INSTRUCTIONS  

A Original Filings to NCDOI are to 
be submitted electronically 
through email or the Online 
Filing System 

Submit originals (with signatures and notarization, if required) 
electronically by email or through the NCDOI’s Online Filing System.  The 
Online Filing System may be accessed from the NCDOI’s website at 
www.nccaptives.com. On the lower right-hand side of the home page, 
click on “Captive Managers” and select the tab “Captive Manager Login” 
to log-in to the system and submit the filings. 
 
Please contact Nancy Staples (see contact information in Note B) if you 
have questions about the Online Filing System. 
 
 

B Contact Person for Required 
Filings 

North Carolina Department of Insurance 
All NCDOI Filings - Nancy Staples 
Nancy.Staples@ncdoi.gov 
(919) 807-6180 

 
NC Department of Revenue 
Premium Tax Returns and Tax Payments  
Latoya Parmele: Latoya.Parmele@ncdor.gov 
Brian Pearce: Brian.Pearce@ncdor.gov 
(919) 754-2600 

 
NC Department of the Secretary of State 
Annual Reports and Fees www.sosnc.com 
(919) 807-2225 

C Mailing Address North Carolina Department of Insurance 
Captive Insurance Companies Division   
Mail Service Center 1203 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1203 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

http://www.nccaptives.com/
mailto:Nancy.Staples@ncdoi.gov
mailto:Latoya.Parmele@ncdor.gov
mailto:Brian.Pearce@ncdor.gov
http://www.sosnc.com/
http://www.sosnc.com/
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D Delivery Instructions All filings must be submitted electronically by email or through the Online 
Filing System no later than the due date.  If the due date falls on a weekend 
or holiday, then the deadline is extended to the next business day.  If you 
encounter issues with the Online Filing System, please contact Nancy 
Staples (See contact information in Note B). 

E Late Filings: A captive insurer’s license may be suspended or revoked for refusal or 
failure to submit an annual report, or any other report or statement 
required by law or by lawful order of the Commissioner per North 
Carolina General Statute 58-10-435(a)(3). 

F Signature/Notarization/ 
Certification 

For the CARF, two executive officer signatures are required.  Those 
signatures must be notarized. (Directors who do not also serve as an 
executive officer are not permitted to sign). 

G Amended Filings CARF: An electronic version of the amended pages must be filed by email or 
through the Online Filing System within 10 days of the amendment along 
with an executed Jurat Page and explanation for the amendment.   
 
Annual Audit Report and Statement of Actuarial Opinion: An electronic 
version of the amended Annual Audit Report and/or Statement of Actuarial 
Opinion must be filed by email or through the Online Filing System within 
10 days of the amendment along with an explanation for the amendment. 

H Extension of Required Filing Due 
Dates 

Annual Report, Annual Audit Report, and Statement of Actuarial 
Opinion: 
The request for an extension, along with an explanation about the need for 
the extension, must be received by the NCDOI by email or through the 
Online Filing System not less than 10 days prior to the filing due date. 

I Exemption from Required Filings 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Annual Report (CARF): 
A captive insurance company may make a request for exemption from 
the CARF at least 30 days prior to the due date, subject to compliance 
with the annual audit requirements of North Carolina General Statute 
58-10-415.  This request should be submitted by email or through the 
Online Filing System. 

Annual Audit Report and Statement of Actuarial Opinion: 
A captive insurance company may make a request, at least 90 days 
prior to the captive insurance company’s fiscal year-end or as 
otherwise required by the Commissioner, for an exemption from 
compliance, if the Commissioner finds that compliance would cause 
the insurer a financial or organizational hardship. Requests are 
considered on a case-by-case basis. This request should be 
submitted electronically by email or through the Online Filing 
System. 
 FinlinFiling System. 
 

 

J Annual Report (CARF) in Excel CARF: The completed CARF is to be submitted electronically in the Excel 
workbook form.  The executed Jurat Page must be submitted in PDF form. 
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K Audit Report GS 58-10-415(d) requires the audited financial report to include a note 
providing a reconciliation of differences, if any, between the audited 
financial report and the CARF.  Additionally, related auditor 
communications as required by GAAP are to be provided to the 
Department.  Finally, the CPA is to furnish a written statement in the 
engagement letter or other document submitted to the insurer that the 
CPA is aware of and will comply with the responsibilities imposed by GS 
58-10-420(b) and 58-10-420(c). 

L Protected Cell Captive Insurance 
Companies or Special Purpose 
Captive Insurers with Cells/Series 
 

Consolidating Information in CARF and Audited Financial Statement: 

 
CARF: A consolidating Excel worksheet providing a Balance Sheet and 
Statement of Income for each cell/series, the captive insurer’s core, and a 
total column that reconciles to the CARF must be filed electronically along 
with the CARF. 

 
Audit Report: The audit report must include supplemental information 
providing a Balance Sheet and Statement of Income for each cell/series 
and the captive insurer’s core, and a total column that reconciles to the 
Balance Sheet and Statement of Income contained within the audit 
report. 

 
Actuarial Opinion: 
Each captive insurance company and its cells/series may file separate 
Statements of Actuarial Opinion on or before June 30th  of each year. 

 

As an alternative to the filing of separate opinions, each captive insurance 
company may file a combined Statement of Actuarial Opinion, which 
certifies the adequacy of loss reserves and loss expense reserves of each 
cell/series and the captive insurance company’s core, if applicable.  Each 
combined actuarial certification must include a supplemental schedule 
showing the loss and loss expense reserves for each cell/series and the 
captive insurer’s core, if applicable.  The loss and loss expense reserve 
reported in the supplemental schedule must equal the loss and loss expense 
reserve amount reported in the combined audited financial statement.  In 
addition, the reserves reported in the supplemental schedule must agree to 
the reserves reported in the CARF filed for the captive insurance company’s 
core and its cells/series. 
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M Notice of Material Misstatement 
of the Financial Position 

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 58-10-420(b), a captive insurance company shall 
require its independent certified public accountant to immediately notify 
in writing an officer and all members of the board of directors or other 
governing body of the captive insurance company of any determination 
by the independent certified public accountant that the captive 
insurance company has materially misstated its financial condition in its 
report to the Commissioner as required in G.S. 58-10-405.  A captive 
insurance company receiving a notification pursuant to this subsection 
shall forward a copy of the notification to the Commissioner within five 
business days after receipt of the notification and shall provide the 
independent certified public accountant with proof that the notification 
was forwarded to the Commissioner.  If the independent certified public 
accountant fails to receive the proof within the five-day period required 
by this subsection, the independent certified public accountant shall 
within the next five business days submit a copy of the notification to 
the Commissioner. 

N Automatic Exemption from 
Disclosure Requirements of ASU 
2015-09 

The Financial Accounting Standards Board (“FASB”) issued Accounting 
Standards Update (“ASU”) 2015-09, which applies to all insurance 
entities that issue short-duration contracts as defined in Topic 944, 
Financial Services – Insurance.  The NCDOI recognizes these disclosure 
requirements require additional expenses and resources of NC licensed 
captive insurers while users of captive insurer financial statements are 
limited.  A NC captive insurer is automatically exempted from this 
disclosure requirement by adopting a modified GAAP approach and 
including a disclosure of this GAAP departure in the annual report (item 
3 of the Questionnaire) and audited financial statement. 

 


