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NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE®:

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA AOCESSoR
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER
COUNTY OF WAKE OF INSURANCE
IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSURE VOLUNTARY SETTLEMENT
OF CHERYL D. GEORGE AGREEMENT
LICENSE NO. 0016973995

NOW COME, Cheryl D. George (hereinafter “Ms. George™) and the Agent Services Division of
the N.C. Department of Insurance (hereinafter ““Agent Services Division™), and hereby
voluntarily and knowingly enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter
“this Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Department has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of the
insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing insurance agents; and

WHEREAS, Ms. George currently holds a non-resident producer’s license with authority
for Life and Accident & Health or Sickness lines of insurance issued by the Department; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report
to the Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by
another governmental agency in this State, including enforcement actions taken against the
producer by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final
disposition of the matter; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Department of Insurance fined Ms. George in the amount of
$250.00 effective January 13, 2021 for failure to timely report an administrative action taken
against her license by the Florida Department of Financial Services as required by Louisiana law:
and

WHEREAS, Ms. George did not report the administrative action taken by the Louisiana
Department of Insurance against her license to this Department within 30 days after the final




disposition of the matter as required by North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k), and
therefore, was in violation thereof: and

WHEREAS, Ms. George admits to this violation of North Carolina General Statute
§ 58-33-32(k); and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the
Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license
issued under Article 58 of the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law
of this or any other state, violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the
Commissioner or of another state’s regulator; and

WHEREAS, N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-70 provides that whenever the Commissioner has
reason to believe that any person has violated any law that would subject the license or
certification of that person to suspension or revocation, the Commissioner is authorized, in lieu
of a hearing, to negotiate a mutually acceptable agreement as to the status of the person’s license
or certificate or to any civil penalty or restitution; and

WHEREAS, Ms. George has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matters
referenced in this Agreement on behalf of herself, and the Agent Services Division has agreed
not to pursue additional civil ramifications, including penalties, sanctions, remedies, or
restitution based on these matters against Ms. Brown; and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve this matter by
consent before the Department initiates an administrative hearing and have reached a mutually
agreeable resolution of this matter as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out
herein, Ms. George and the Department hereby agree to the following:

1. Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Ms. George shall pay a civil penalty of
$250.00 to the Agents Services Division. The form of payment shall be by certified
check, cashier’s check ,or money order. The check or money order for the payment of
this civil penalty shall be payable to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Ms.
George shall remit the civil penalty by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
Agents Services Division along with a copy of this signed Agreement. The civil penalty
and the signed Agreement must be received by the Department no later than September
03. 2021 . The civil penalty shall be subject to disbursement in accordance with the
provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina Constitution for the benefit of
public schools.



2. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Agents Services Division’s disciplinary
power in any future examination of Ms. George or in any other complaints involving Ms.
George.

3. Ms. George enters into this Agreement, on behalf of herself, freely and voluntarily and
with the knowledge of her right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Ms.
George understands she may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this
Agreement,

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and

effect of an Order of the Commissioner, Ms. George understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33-
46(a)(2) provides that a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of the
Commissioner.

5. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential
by the Agents Services Division. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses
issued by the Agents Services Division to Ms. George shall reflect that Regulatory Action
has been taken against her. The Agents Services Division is free to disclose the contents
of this Agreement with third parties upon request or pursuant to any law or policy
providing for such disclosure. The Agents Services Division, upon request, routinely
provides copies of voluntary settlement agreement to all companies that have appointed
the licensee.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and
conditions stated herein.

7. Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the Agents Services Division has
issued an occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you to
report this administrative action to it. The Agents Services Division cannot give you
legal advice as to the specific reporting requirements of other state or federal regulators.
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Agents Services Division
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