NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE —
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA |

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
COUNTY OF WAKE

IN THE MATTER OF:

CONSENT ORDER AND FINAL
AGENCY DECISION

THE LICENSURE OF
MATTHEW HILLER

(NPN 0008280943),
Docket Number: 2059

Respondent.

THIS MATTER came before the undersigned Hearing Officer appointed by
the Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §58-2-55 for
consideration of the proposed Consent Order agreed upon by the North Carolina
Department of Insurance (“Department”) and Matthew Hiller (“Respondent”).

The undersigned Hearing Officer, with the consent of the parties, makes the
following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law:

1. Respondent holds a resident producer’s license issued by the
Department in 2004 with authority for Life, Accident & Health or Sickness,
Property and‘ Casuélty lines of insurance and a Medicafe Supplement Long-Term
Care insurance license issued by the Deﬁartment in 2010. Both of these licenses

were 1ssued pursuant to Article 33 of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General

Statutes.




2. Respondent also holds an insurance broker license issued by the
Department, which is not at issue in this proceeding.

3. Prior to applying for his 2004 and 2010 licenses, Respondent was
convicted of Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana in 2001.

4. Respondent answered “No” to the following question on his 2004
license application: “Have you ever been convicted of, or are you currently charged
with, committing a crime, whether or not adjudication was withheld?”

5. Respondent answered “No” to the following question on his 2010
license application: “Have you ever been convicted of a crime, had a judgment
withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a crime?”

6. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1) provides that the Commissioner may
place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew any license issued under
Article 33 of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General Statutes for providing
materially incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or materially untrue information in
the license application.

T Respondent violated N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1) by giving
materially incorrect and incomplete answers regarding his criminal record as set
forth above on his 2004 and 2010 license applications.

8. Respondent’s violation of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1), as set forth

above, subjects Respondent’s 2004 and 2010 licenses to possible suspension or
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revocation and subjects Respondent to a possible civil penalty under N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 58-2-70.

9. Respondent’s violation of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1), as set forth
above, does not merit suspension or revocation of Respondent’s 2004 or 2010 licenses
and Respondent should instead be required to pay a civil monetary penalty of

$500.00.

IT IS, THEREFORE, BY CONSENT, ORDERED AS FOLLOWS:

1. Respondent shall pay a civil monetary penalty in the amount of
$500.00 to the North Carolina Department of Insurance by a certified check or
official bank check. The check shall be delivered to the Department no later than
September 15, 2021. The civil monetary penalty shall be subject to disbursement in
accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina
Constitution for the benefit of the public schools.

2 Respondent shall sign this Consent Order and return the Consent
Order to counsel for the Department no later than September 15, 2021.

3. Respondent shall comply with all provisions of Chapter 58 of the North

Carolina General Statutes and Title 11 of the North Carolina Administrative Code

that are applicable to Respondent.
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4. Except as to the acts or practices expressly addressed in this contested
case proceeding, this Consent Order does not in any way affect the Department’s
disciplinary power in any future examinations of Respondent, or regarding any
future complaints involving Respondent.

b. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and is not
confidential. The Department is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement to
third parties upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such
disclosure.

6. If a state or federal regulator other than the N.C. Department of
Insurance has issued an occupational or professional license to Respondent, that
regulator may require Respondent to report this administrative action to it. The N.C.
Department of Insurance cannot provide legal advice as to the specific reporting
requirements of other state or federal regulators.

-~

This &\ _| day of September, 2021.

él
Tyler Radtk
Hearing Officer
N.C. Department of Insurance

[See next page for signatures of the parties]
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WE CONSENT:

NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

By: &A&&wﬂ ____________ , Date:,_‘?’/&;é%g
AngelAJHatchell

Deputy Commissioner

Date: September 3, 2021

Matthew Hiller
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