Life and Health Insurance Division Staff

Contact Information:

Physical Address:
Albemarle Building 
325 N. Salisbury Street
Raleigh NC 27603-5926

Mailing Address:
NC Department of Insurance
Life & Health
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh NC 27699-1201

Life and Health Division fax number: 919-715-3547  

Life and Health Division email address:  LHinbox@ncdoi.gov

Staff Directory:

Ted Hamby
Deputy Commissioner 
919-807-6056 
ted.hamby@ncdoi.gov

Mary Sanders
Administrative Assistant 
919-807-6056 
mary.sanders@ncdoi.gov
Administrative Assistant to Deputy Commissioner


Avonya Matthews

Administrative Associate II 
919-807-6057 
avonya.matthews@ncdoi.gov
TPA and Citrix ShareFile Questions

Garlinda Taylor
Insurance Regulatory Manager 
919-807-6059 
garlinda.taylor@ncdoi.gov
Managed Care Operations Filings; MEWA Licensing; Long-Term Care Rate Filings; SERFF Filing Questions


Rebecca Hill

Insurance Regulatory Manager 
919-807-6060 
rebecca.hill@ncdoi.gov
TPA Registration and Licensing; Viatical Settlements; Stop-Loss; Blanket Life, Health and Accident

Rosemary Gillespie
Senior Health Care Reform Analyst 
919-807-6070  
rosemary.gillespie@ncdoi.gov
ACA Form/Rate Filings; ACA Question/Coordination with NAIC
,CMS; Major Medical; Student and Stop-Loss Rate Filings

Cara Shackelford
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6064 
cara.shackelford@ncdoi.gov
Credit (Life, A&H, Property, IUI, Family Leave); Life and Annuity Form Filings; Charitable Gift Annuities

Yolanda Fonville
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6071 
yolanda.fonville@ncdoi.gov
Major Medical; Student Health and Short-Term Major Medical Form Filings; Stop Loss Form Filings

Phyllis Wyrick
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6069 
phyllis.wyrick@ncdoi.gov
Managed Care Operations Filings; Provider Contracts; MEWA Licensing; Dental and Vision Form Filings

Snezana 
Vukina

Senior Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6068 
snezana.vukina@ncdoi.gov
Managed Care Operations Filings; Provider Contracts; BCBS Forms Filings

Becky Thornton
Senior Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6061 
becky.thornton@ncdoi.gov
Association Groups; US DOL MEWA Filings; Project Assignments

Mary Jo 
Wegenast

Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6065 
maryjo.wegenast@ncdoi.gov
Medicare Supplement Form/Rate Filings; MEWA Form/Rate Filings

Edna Cross
Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6066 
edna.cross@ncdoi.gov
TPA Registration and Licensing; Accident and Disability Form Filings


Chris Cassady

Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6072 
chris.cassady@ncdoi.gov
Life and Annuity Form Filings; Life Illustrations; Viatical Settlements

Charles Washington
Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6062 
charles.washington@ncdoi.gov
Excepted Rate Filings; Advertisement; Accident and Disability Form/Rate Filings

Janet Streb
Policy & Rate Analyst 
919-807-6067 
janet.streb@ncdoi.gov
Hospital Indemnity Form Filings; Limited Benefit Plans; Blanket Health and Accident Form/Rate Filings, TPA