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NOW COME, Carl Johnson (hereinafter “Mr. Johnson™) and the North Carolina Department of
Insurance (hereinafter “Department”), and hereby voluntarily and knowingly enter into the
following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Department has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of the
insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing insurance agents; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Johnson currently holds a non-resident producer’s license with
authority for Life and Accident & Health or Sickness lines of insurance, and Variable Life and
Variable Annuity lines of authority issued by the Department: and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-2-69(c) provides that if a licensee is
convicted in any court or competent jurisdiction for any crime or offense other than a motor
vehicle infraction, the licensee shall notify the Commissioner within 10 business days after the
date of the conviction; and “conviction™ includes an adjudication of guilt, a plea of guilty, or a
plea of “nolo contendere; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Johnson on or about August 09, 2017 was convicted in the Dane
County Court in Wisconsin of five misdemeanors: four (4) counts of Fourth Degree Sexual
Assault, a Class A Misdemeanor. and one (1) count of Pandering-Solicitation, a Class A
Misdemeanor; and

WHEREAS, such convictions were not reported to the Department as required and set
forth in the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-69(c) and Mr. Johnson was therefore in
violation thereof; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by another
governmental agency in this State, including enforcement actions taken against the producer by
the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final disposition
of the matter; and



WHEREAS, the Indiana Department of Insurance denied Mr. Johnson’s request to
reinstate his producer’s license effective August 08, 2020 based on Mr. Johnson’s past criminal
history, including five (5) misdemeanor convictions, and for his failure to timely notify the
Indiana Department regarding such criminal charges; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Johnson did not report this administrative action taken against his
license pursuant to the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k) and therefore was in violation
thereof; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Johnson admits to these violations of North Carolina General Statutes
§§ 58-2-69(c) and 58-33-32(k): and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the
Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license
issued under Article 58 of the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law
of this or any other state, violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the
Commissioner or of another state’s regulator; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Johnson has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matters
referenced in this Agreement on behalf of himself, and the Department has agreed not to pursue
additional penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on these matters against Mr.
Johnson; and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve this matter by
consent before the Department initiates an administrative hearing; and have reached a mutually
agreeable resolution of this matter as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out
herein, Mr. Johnson and the Department hereby agree to the following:

1. Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Mr. Johnson shall pay a civil penalty of
$500.00 to the Department. The form of payment shall be by certified check, cashier’s
check or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil penalty
shall be payable to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Mr. Johnson shall
remit the civil penalty by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Department along
with a copy of this signed Agreement. The civil penalty and the signed Agreement must
be received by the Department no later than December 07, 2020. The civil penalty shall
be subject to disbursement in accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of
the North Carolina Constitution for the benefit of public schools.

2. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Department’s disciplinary power in any
future examination of Mr. Johnson or in any other complaints involving Mr. Johnson.



3. Mr. Johnson enters into this Agreement, on behalf of himself, freely and voluntarily and
with the knowledge of his right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Mr.
Johnson understands he may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this
Agreement.

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and
effect of an Order of the Commissioner. Mr. Johnson understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33-
46(a)(2) provides that a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of the
Commissioner.

5. This Agreement, when finalized. will be a public record and will net be held confidential
by the Department. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Department to Mr. Johnson shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken against
him. The Departiment is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with third parties
upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The
Department routinely will provide, upon request, a copy of the voluntary settlement
agreement to all companies that have appointed the licensee.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and
conditions stated herein.

7. Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the N. C. Department of Insurance
has issued an occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you
to report this administrative action to it. The N.C. Department of Insurance cannot give
you legal advice as to the specific reporting requirements of other state or federal
regulators.

N. C. Department of Insurance

By: Carl Johnson By:
License No. 0006525882 ,L&#_Deputy Commissioner
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