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RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER
COUNTY OF WAKE OF INSURANCE

INTHE MATTER OF THE LICENSURFE VOLUNTARY SETTLEMENT

OF PAIGE MCDERMOTT AGREEMENT

NPN: 19923709

NOW COME, Paige Lauren McDermott (hereinafter “Ms. McDermott™) and the Agent Services
Division of the N.C. Department of Insurance (hereinafter “Agent Services Division™), and hereby
voluntarily and knowingly enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this
Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Agent Services Division has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of
the insurance laws of this State, and for reguiating and iicensing insurance agents: and

WHEREAS, Ms. McDermott currently holds a Non-Resident Producer’s license with authority
for Accident & Health or Sickness insurance and a Medicare Supplement Long-Term Care insurance
license issued by the Agent Services Division; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by another
sovernmental agency in this State. including enforcement actions taken against the producer by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter:
and

WIHEREAS, the California Department of Insurance denied Ms. McDermott’s application for a
non-resident accident & health agent’s license in an administrative proceeding. cffective July 08,2022,
bascd on her conviction on January 14,2020 in Case No. 2019CMO00082 in the Circuit Court, County of
Brown. Wisconsin of “conduct; domestic violence™ in violation of Section 947.01 of the Wisconsin
Statutes: and

WHEREAS, Ms. McDermott failed to report the administrative action taken by the California
Department of Insurance within 30 days after the final disposition of that matter as required by North
Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k), and therefore, was in violation thercof; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the Commissioner
may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license issued under Article 58
of the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law of this or any other state,



violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s regulator;

and

WHEREAS, N. C. Gen, Stat, § 58-2-70 provides that whenever the Commissioner has reason 1o

believe that any person has violated any law that would subject the license or certification of that person
to suspension or revocation, the Commissioner is authorized, in lieu of a hearing. to negotiate a mutually
acceptable agreement as to the status of the person’s license or certificate or to any civil penalty or
restitution: and

WHEREAS, Ms. McDermott has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matter referenced

in this Agreement on behalf of herself. and the Agent Services Division has agreed not to pursue
additional civil ramifications. including penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on this matter
against Ms. McDermott; and

WHEREAS. the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve this matter by consent before

the Agent Services Division initiates an administrative hearing and have reached a mutually agrecable
resolution of this matter as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE. in exchange for the consideration and promiscs and agreements set out herein.
Ms. McDermott and the Department hereby agree to the following:

fad

Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Ms. McDermott shall pay a civil penalty of
$250.00 to the Agent Services Division. The form of payment shall be by certified check,
cashier’s check, or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil penalty
shall be payable to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Ms. McDermott shall remit
the civil penalty by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Agent Services Division along
with a copy of this signed Agreement. The Department must receive the civil penalty and the
signed Agreement no later than June 12,2023. The civil penalty shall be subject to disbursement
in accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina Constitution for

the benefit of public schools.

This Agreement does not in any way affect the Agent Services Division’s disciplinary power in
any future examination of Ms. McDermott or in any other complaints involving Ms. McDermott.

Ms. McDermott enters into this Agreement, on behalf of herself, freely and voluntarily and with
the knowledge of her right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Ms. McDermott
understands she may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this Agreement.

The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and effect of an
Order of the Commissioner. Ms. McDermott understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33-40(a)(2) provides
that a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of the Commissioner.

This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential by the
Agent Services Division. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Agents Services Division to Ms. McDermott shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken
against her. The Agent Services Division is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with
third parties upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The



Agent Services Division, upon request, routinely will provide a copy of the voluntary scttiement
agreement to companies that have appointed the licensee.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and

conditions stated herein.

7. Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the Agent Services Division has issued an
uccupmionul or |)rofce.siunul license to vou, that regulator may require you to report this
administrative action to it. The Agent Services Division cannot give you legal advice as to the

specific reporting requirements of other state or federal regulators.

N. C. Department of Insurance
Agent Services Division

License No. 0019923709 ‘ Deputy Commissioner
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