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NOW COME, Betty Fay McKinney (hereinafter “Ms. McKinney™) and the Agent Services Division of
the N.C. Department of Insurance (hereinafter Agent Services Division™), and hereby voluntarily and
knowingly enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Agent Services Division has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of
the insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing insurance agents; and

WHEREAS, Ms. McKinney currently holds a Non-Resident Producer’s license with authority
for Life and Accident and Health or Sickness lines of insurance issued by the Agent Services Division;
and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by another
governmental agency in this State, including enforcement actions taken against the producer by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter;
and

WHEREAS, Ms. McKinney was involved in an administrative proceeding with the Florida
Department of Financial Services, effective June 20,2024, in which her application for a non-resident
producer’s license was denied based on past criminal history and material misrepresentation on her
license application dated June 12,2024. Ms. McKinney entered a plea of “guilty” to the charge of Theft, a
Texas State Jail Felony, for which Adjudication of Guilt was deferred, and was sentenced to two years’
probation and ordered to pay court costs; and

WHEREAS, Ms. McKinney failed to report the administrative action taken by the Florida
Department of Financial Services against her producer’s license within 30 days after the final disposition

of that matter as required by North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k), and therefore, was in violation
thereof; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the Commissioner
may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license issued under Article 58
of the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law of this or any other state,




violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s regulator;
and

WHEREAS, N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-70 provides that whenever the Commissioner has reason to
believe that any person has violated any law that would subject the license or certification of that person
to suspension or revocation, the Commissioner is authorized, in lieu of a hearing, to negotiate a mutually
acceptable agreement as to the status of the person’s license or certificate or to any civil penalty or
restitution; and

WHEREAS, Ms. McKinney has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matter referenced
in this Agreement on behalf of herself, and the Agent Services Division has agreed not to pursue
additional civil ramifications, including penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on this matter
against Ms. McKinney; and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve this matter by consent before
the Agent Services Division initiates an administrative hearing and have reached a mutually agreeable
resolution of this matter as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out herein,
Ms. McKinney and the Department hereby agree to the following:

1. Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Ms. McKinney shall pay a civil penalty of
$250.00 to the Agent Services Division. The form of payment shall be by certified check,
cashier’s check, or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil penalty
shall be payable to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Ms. McKinney shall remit the
civil penalty by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Agent Services Division along with
a copy of this signed Agreement. The Department must receive the civil penalty and the signed
Agreement no later than March 28, 2025 The civil penalty shall be subject to disbursement in
accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina Constitution for the
benefit of public schools.

2. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Agent Services Division’s disciplinary power in
any future examination of Ms. McKinney or in any other complaints involving Ms. McKinney.

3. Ms. McKinney enters into this Agreement, on behalf of herself, freely and voluntarily and with
the knowledge of her right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Ms. McKinney
understands she may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this Agreement.

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and effect of an
Order of the Commissioner. Ms. McKinney understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides
that a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of the Commissioner.

5. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential by the
Agent Services Division. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Agents Services Division to Ms. McKinney shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken
against her. The Agent Services Division is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with
third parties upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The



Agent Services Division, upon request, routinely will provide a copy of the voluntary settlement
agreement to companies that have appointed the licensee.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and
conditions stated herein.

7. Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the Agent Services Division has issued an
occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you to report this
administrative action to it. The Agent Services Division cannot give you legal advice as to the
specific reporting requirements of other state or federal regulators.

N. C. Department of Insurance
Agent Services Division
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