
Rev.03/2024

 Board Resolu�on/Owner Authoriza�on to apply for a NC premium finance license

 Personal Ques�onnaires (Form DOI-5PF) for all owners, governing members, and officers 

 Corporate Forma�on Documents  (a�ested true and correct by authorized officer)

 Corpora�ons: Ar�cles of Incorpora�on and By-Laws
 LLCs: Ar�cles of Organiza�on and Opera�ng Agreement
 Partnerships: Partnership Agreement

 Cer�ficate of Authority from NC Secretary of State  (foreign & alien applicants only)

 Proof of DBA/Trade Name Registra�on (if applicable)

 Detailed Method of Opera�ons

 Samples of Premium Financing Documents

 Audited Corporate Financial Statements (most recent year)

 Reflects a minimum $5,000 posi�ve net equity
 Prepared in accordance with Generally Accepted Accoun�ng Principles (GAAP)

 Notarized Surety Bonds with Power of A�orney
 Type A License: minimum $5,000 -or- $1,000 per $5,000 in premium finance receivables to a maximum of

$25,000
 Type B License: $25,000

 Non-refundable Statutory Licensing + Processing Fee (payable to NC Department of Insurance)

 Payment Op�ons:  Credit Card or Check
 Type A Fee: $648 ($600/applica�on + $48/processing)

 Type B Fee: $2,448 ($2,400/applica�on + $48/processing)

 Branch Offices: $100 each (op�onal)

 Mailing Address
◊ Payment & Other Documents

◊ Overnight Delivery: Bank of America Lockbox Services, Lockbox #742175, 6000 Feldwood Road, 
College Park, GA 30349

◊ US Postal Service: NC/State of DOI, P.O. Box 742175, Atlanta, GA 30374-2175
◊ Original Bonds 

◊ NC Dept. of Insurance, Agent Services Division, ATTN: NIBE Team, 1204 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699 - 1204

◊ Surety Bonds can also be sent electronically to northcarolinalicensingofficeNIBE@pearson.com 
or to NIBE@ncdoi.gov. 

Premium Finance Company Initial Application Checklist

It is important to note, any person, firm, corpora�on or associa�on conduc�ng business, within the State of NC, 
in any of these areas without a license/permit shall be guilty of a Class I felony.  For more informa�on rela�ng to 
the exact laws and regula�ons cited in the North Carolina General Statutes, refer to NCGS Chapter 58/Ar�cle 35. 
For your convenience, we suggest having the following items readily available in order to assist in the comple-
�on of the electronic applica�on for new licensure as a North Carolina premium finance company. 




