PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION

INFORMATION

PACKET

December 2018

North Carolina Department of Insurance Agent Services Division 1204 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1204

Phone: (919) 807-6800 Website: <u>www.ncdoi.com/asd</u> Fax: (919) 715-3794 Email: <u>asd@ncdoi.gov</u>

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION

GENERAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

CLASSROOM COURSES – ATTENDANCE AND EXAM REQUIREMENTS

CORRESPONDENCE COURSES – ATTENDANCE AND EXAM REQUIREMENTS

CORRESPONDENCE (WORKBOOK AND ONLINE) COURSE PROCEDURES

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (NCAC) - SECTION 6A.0700

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

FORMS

REQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

The North Carolina Department of Insurance (NCDOI) Agent Services Division reviews and approves all Pre-Licensing (PLE) School applications. Once a school is approved, it is added to the listing of approved PLE Schools that is posted on the North Carolina page of Pearson Vue's website, www.pearsonvue.com/nc/insurance. (Pearson Vue is the test vendor for the licensing examinations.)

There are two PLE School listings:

Approved Providers of Insurance Producer Pre-licensing Classroom Courses Approved Providers of Insurance Producer Pre-licensing Online Courses

Providers should notify the Agent Services Division of changes to the following:

| Program Director | Student Contact Name |
|---------------------------|---------------------------------|
| Email Address | Telephone number(s) |
| Website Address | Mailing Address |
| Physical Location Address | PLE courses offered |
| Method of Instruction | Withdrawal from Offering NC PLE |

The Agent Services Division will update the PLE School listing and forward to Pearson Vue for posting on the website.

To remain up-to-date on any changes to the Statutes, Administrative Code and/or general procedures, please check the "Hot Topics" section of the website <u>www.ncdoi.com</u>.

PLE Schools must submit an application for approval at least 30 days before the first presentation. PLE Schools are not subject to an initial application fee or a renewal fee.

11 NCAC 6A.0700 is the section of the North Carolina Administrative Code that governs insurance PLE in NC.

PLE School approval is not subject to renewal but 11 NCAC 6A.0702(d)(4) specifies that a school must conduct at least one pre-licensing course during any 12-month period or approval may be denied, revoked, suspended or terminated.

Per 11 NCAC 6A.0702(g), if a school's approval has been suspended upon the Commissioner's finding that the school has not conducted at least one pre-licensing course during any 12-month period that school may reapply after one year of suspension. At such time, the Commissioner shall give the school six months to conduct at least one pre-licensing course.

PLE School applications are reviewed and approved or denied by the NCDOI Agent Services Division. Incomplete submissions may delay the review process and may result in denial. A PLE School application is considered complete when all the necessary materials are received.

Please allow at least 30 days for application review. If additional information is requested, please submit within 60 days of date of the request or the application will be denied. Once the additional information is received, please allow at least 30 days for review.

GENERAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

- 1. PLE Schools must teach PLE pursuant to the examination content outlines which are updated in the Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide each year. Contact Pearson Vue at 1-800-274-0668 to request a hard copy of the candidate guide or download an electronic version from www.pearsonvue.com/nc/insurance.
- 2. Pre-licensing courses shall be for instructional purposes only and not for promoting the interests of or recruiting employees for any particular insurance agency or company.
- 3. PLE courses are offered as either a classroom course or a correspondence course via the workbook method or the internet (online).
- 4. PLE school applications must be submitted at least 30 days before the first course date. An incomplete submission will delay the approval/disapproval of the School. Providers applying for online approval must submit a user ID and password for access to the online course content.
- 5. The school shall designate one person as the Program Director. The Program Director shall be responsible for administrative matters such as recruiting, evaluating and certifying the qualifications of instructors, developing programs, scheduling of classes, advertising, maintaining facilities and equipment, recordkeeping and supervising of the pre-licensing program.
- 6. Per 11 NCAC 06A.0703(d), Program Directors shall be approved by the Commissioner upon finding that the applicant is recommended by the president/chief operating officer of the sponsoring educational institution, company, agency or association; has submitted all information required by the Commissioner; possesses good character and reputation; and one of the following qualifications:
 - (1) Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has at least two years of experience as an instructor of insurance or as an educational administrator;
 - (2) Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has at least six years of experience in the insurance industry with a minimum of two years of experience in insurance management;
 - (3) Is a full-time college or faculty member who regularly teaches risk management or insurance courses; or
 - (4) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Rule.

A person desiring approval as Program Director shall make written application.

An approved program director shall inform the Commissioner of any change in program affiliation by filing an application for program director approval prior to directing a new program.

7. Per NCAC 06A.0702 (I), a classroom school's facilities and equipment shall have been found by appropriate local code inspectors to be in compliance with all applicable local, state and

federal laws and regulations regarding safety, sanitation, and access by persons with disabilities.

- 8. A school shall notify the Commissioner of any change of course location or schedule information no fewer than five (5) business days before the change. Notification of the changes shall be in writing.
- 9. With the exception of correspondence or Internet (online) courses, a school shall file with the Commissioner information giving exact dates, times, locations, and instructor name for each scheduled pre-licensing course. This information may be submitted either at the beginning of each quarter or semester or no later than one week before the first class meeting of each pre-licensing course.
- 10. Classroom schools shall retain the following material on file at one location for at least five (5) years:
 - (1) class schedules;
 - (2) advertisements;
 - (3) bulletins, catalogues, and other official publications;
 - (4) grade reports, showing a numeric grade for each student;
 - (5) attendance records;

(6) master copy of each final course examination, indicating the answer key, the school name, course location, course dates and name of instructor;

(7) list of student names and their license identifying numbers for each course, and the name of the instructor; and

(8) student registration information

All files shall be made available to the Commissioner upon request.

- 11. Correspondence and Internet schools shall retain the following material on file at one location for at least five (5) years:
 - (1) advertisements;
 - (2) bulletins, catalogues and other official publications;
 - (3) grade reports;

(4) list of student names and their license identifying numbers for each course, and the name of the instructor;

(5) student registration information that shall be obtained prior to the distribution of course material; and

(6) student records to validate the integrity of the security measures utilized by the provider

(7) disinterested third party examination affidavits

(8) attendance reports (student sign-in via internet, electronic time date stamps on time student spends on course, etc.)

All files shall be made available to the Commissioner upon request.

12. Choice of classroom course text is at the discretion of each school. The Department does not endorse textbooks or programs for vendors promoting them for sale.

- Text books used in correspondence or internet (online) courses shall be approved by the Commissioner before use. No text book used in a correspondence course shall be approved unless it contains instruction in the subject areas described in G.S. 58-33-30(d)(2) and 58-33-30(d)(3).
- 14. A school shall notify the Commissioner in writing of a change in textbook.
- 15. An Examination Admission Ticket shall be validated for each course successfully completed by a student. An Examination Admission Ticket presented at the examination site that indicates completion of more than one course shall be invalid (i.e. a ticket cannot be marked for both Property and Casualty).
- 16. The Examination Admission Ticket may have an original instructor signature. Tickets may be emailed with an electronic signature. The Provider may be required to provide evidence that the document is encrypted such that it cannot be altered or duplicated. Tickets cannot be faxed to students.
- 17. An Examination Admission Ticket shall be valid for access to the examination for 90 days or a maximum of five examination attempts over the 90-day period, whichever occurs first. If an applicant for a license does not successfully pass the examination within 90 days or five examination attempts in the 90-day period, the applicant shall again meet the pre-licensing education requirement to be eligible for the examination.

Licenses Requiring PLE

 An applicant may apply for an Insurance Producer license consisting of one or more lines of authority. The lines of authority requiring a pre-licensing course and an examination are as follows:

Life Accident and Health and/or sickness Property Casualty Personal Lines Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care

2) Per 11 NCAC.06A.0704(6), each line requires a minimum number of hours of instruction. Time set aside for breaks, pop-tests, quizzes, the final comprehensive course examination and other non-instructional activities shall not count toward the minimum instructional requirement.

Per NCGS 58-33-30(d)(2) & (3) and 11 NCAC 06A.0704(d)(6), following are the minimum hours required for each line:

Life – 20 hours Accident and Health and/or Sickness – 20 hours Property – 20 hours Casualty – 20 hours Personal Lines – 20 hours Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care – 10 hours

3) Applicants for a Title, Auto Physical Damage Appraiser, Adjuster (Company/Independent Firm, Self-Employed or Public), Crop Hail Adjuster or Surplus Lines license are **not required** to complete pre-licensing education before sitting for an examination. Adjusters (Company/Independent Firm, Self-Employed or Public) have the option to take pre-licensing for a Property and Casualty Insurance Producer to help prepare for the Adjuster examination.

Instructor Qualification

Per 11 NCAC 6A.0705 (a), instructors should have the following qualifications, which shall be verified by the instructor's pre-licensing school:

- (1) Accident and health or sickness; Medicare supplement insurance and long-term care insurance:
 - (A) Registered Health Underwriter (RHU);
 - (B) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS);
 - (C) Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC);
 - (D) Health Insurance Associate (HIA);
 - (E) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or explaining policies covering accident and health or sickness insurance, Medicare supplement insurance or long-term care insurance;
 - (F) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or
 - (G) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section.
- (2) Life insurance and annuities:
 - (A) Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU);
 - (B) Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC);
 - (C) Fellow Life Management Institute (FLMI);
 - (D) Life Underwriter Training Council Fellow (LUTCF);
 - (E) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS);
 - (F) Certified Financial Planner (CFP):
 - (G) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or explaining life insurance policies, or annuities;
 - (H) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or
 - (I) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section.

- (3) Property insurance, casualty insurance and personal lines:
 - (A) Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter (CPCU);
 - (B) Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI);
 - (C) Associate in Risk Management (ARM);
 - (D) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC);
 - (E) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or explaining property insurance, casualty insurance, or personal lines policies;
 - (F) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or
 - (G) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section.

Per NCAC 06A.0703, the Program Director is responsible for the actions of the approved school's instructors.

CLASSROOM COURSES – ATTENDANCE AND EXAM REQUIREMENTS

- 1. Per NCGS 58-33-30(d)(2), twenty (20) hours of instruction is required for each license Life, Accident & Health and/or Sickness, Property, Casualty and Personal Lines.
- 2. Per NCGS 58-33-30(d (3), ten (10) hours of instruction is required for Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care.
- 3. Class meetings shall be limited to a maximum of eight hours of instruction in any given day.
- 4. Classroom courses shall have fixed beginning and ending dates and may not be conducted on an open-entry/open-exit basis.
- 5. All pre-licensing classroom school courses shall be taught by instructors who meet the qualifications.
- 6. The first thirty (30) minutes of the course must be spent introducing the Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide. The instructor must cover the following topics: Examination Admission Ticket, Exam Reservation, Exam Fees, Exam Day, Pearson VUE Test Center Policies and Screening Questions. The appropriate content outline should also be covered.
- 7. Schools shall conduct a final comprehensive course examination that covers all subject areas prescribed by the Commissioner for each course. Schools may allow a student to make up a missed examination or to retake a failed examination in accordance with policies adopted by the school. No final examination shall be given until a student has completed the instructional requirement.
- 8. The final comprehensive course examination must incorporate the following:
 - An exam answer key.
 - Multiple choice items **must** have a minimum of four options.
 - Multiple-choice items **must** have only once correct response.

- "True/False" questions and questions with answer choices such as "I, II and III", "IV only", "II and III only "A and B", "B only", "A, B and D are correct", "All of the Above" and/or "None of the Above", etc. are **not** allowable exam answers.
- 9. Schools shall provide each student who successfully completes a pre-licensing course with an Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion. The Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion shall not be validated for a student prior to completion of all course requirements and the passing of the course's comprehensive final examination.

<u>CORRESPONDENCE COURSES (WORKBOOK METHOD AND INTERNET) – ATTENDANCE AND EXAM</u> <u>REQUIREMENTS</u>

- 1. Correspondence courses shall not have fixed beginning and ending dates and shall be conducted on an open-entry basis.
- 2. All pre-licensing correspondence courses shall be monitored by instructors who meet the qualifications.
- 3. An instructor shall be designated for each correspondence course student. Students must communicate with the assigned instructor a minimum of two (2) times. The form of communication may be via person-to-person conferences, via telephone conversations, or via email or other forms of validated internet communication. Instructors must:
 - 1) Describe the pre-licensing requirements
 - 2) Review the course content and explain use of materials and books
 - 3) Inform student to obtain and review the Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide
 - 4) Establish a schedule of studies appropriate for the student
 - 5) Explain course final examination and grading procedures
 - 6) Review workbooks, computer records, etc. to verify the student has completed all assignments
- 4. Per NCGS 58-33-30(d)(2), twenty (20) hours of instruction is required for each line of authority -Life, Accident & Health and/or Sickness, Property, Casualty and Personal Lines.
- 5. Per NCGS 58-33-30(d)(3), ten (10) hours of instruction is required for Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care.
- 6. One (1) "instructional hour" = 50 minutes.
- 7. Schools must be able to verify students have completed the required number of instructional hours.
- 8. Schools shall conduct a final comprehensive course examination that covers all subject areas prescribed by the Commissioner for each course. Schools may allow a student to make up a missed examination or to retake a failed examination in accordance with policies adopted by the school. No final examination shall be given until a student has completed the instructional requirement.

9. Schools shall provide each student who successfully completes a pre-licensing course with an Examination Admission Ticket. The Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion shall not be validated for a student prior to completion of all course requirements and the passing of the course's comprehensive final examination.

Sanctions for Noncompliance

1) In accordance with 11 NCAC 06A.0702(d), the Commissioner shall deny, revoke, suspend, or terminate approval of any school upon finding that:

(1) the school has refused or failed to comply with any of the provisions of this Section;

(2) any school official or instructor has obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any manner or form, licensing examination questions;

(3) the school's students have a first-time licensing examination performance record that is below the average examination performance record of all first-time examination candidates;

(4) the school has not conducted at least one pre-licensing course during any 12-month period; or

(5) the school has refused or failed to submit information or properly completed forms prescribed by the Commissioner.

- 2) When a school's approval is discontinued, the procedure for reinstatement is to apply as a new school, with a statement of the reasons that the school is now eligible for reconsideration.
- 3) In accordance with 11 NCAC 06A.0703(f), the Commissioner shall deny, revoke, suspend, or terminate approval of any program director upon finding that:
 - (1) The program director fails to meet the criteria for approval provided by this Rule;
 - (2) The program director has failed to comply with any provisions of this Section;
 - (3) The program director's employment has been terminated by any sponsoring educational institution/company;
 - (4) The program director provided false information to the Commissioner when making application for approval;
 - (5) The program director has at any time had an insurance license denied, suspended or revoked by the North Carolina Department of Insurance or any other insurance department, or has ever been required to return a license while under investigation; or
 - (6) The program director has obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any manner or form, examination questions.
- 4) When a program director's approval is discontinued, the procedure for reinstatement is to apply as a new program director, with a statement of the reasons that he is now eligible for reconsideration. The Commissioner may require an investigation before new approval is granted.

Pre-licensing Correspondence Course Procedures

PLE Provider Duties:

Providers shall comply with the following for individuals taking a correspondence course (workbook or internet):

- 1. Assign a qualified instructor to each student.
- 2. Inform the student that he/she must obtain an Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide, which explains in detail the requirements for licensure and provides the steps to obtain a license.
- 3. Ensure each student communicates with the assigned instructor a minimum of two (2) times. (The form of communication may be via person to person conferences, via telephone conversations, via email or other forms of validated internet communication.) The PLE provider shall be able to provide documentation of the communication sessions.
- 4. The Agent Services Division requires that the PLE provider and instructor provide evidence that the student reviewed the material for the number of instructional hours required for the line of authority he/she is applying pursuant to NCGS 58-33-30 (d)(1)(2)(3).

*20 hours each for personal lines, property, casualty, life, and accident & health and/or sickness

*10 hours for Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care

Instructor Initial Duties:

- 1. Describe the pre-licensing requirements (20 hours each for personal lines, property, casualty, life, and accident & health and/or sickness licenses; 10 hours for Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care license).
- **2.** Inform the student that he/she must obtain an Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide. Review the Candidate Guide and fingerprint requirements.
- 3. Explain in detail the requirements for licensure and review the steps to obtain the license. The instructor shall ensure that the applicant understands to follow the licensure steps in order. Otherwise, there will be a delay in the license decision. Use the Quick Reference Guide.
- 4. Check student course materials to ensure that they are complete and current.
- 5. Review course content.
- 6. Explain use of materials, books, online courses and security compliance requirements to ensure that the applicant is the person taking the online course.
- 7. Complete any required forms or applications.
- 8. Establish a schedule of study appropriate for the student.
- 9. Ensure that the student has the necessary information to contact the instructor to have questions answered during course study.
- 10. Explain the course final examination, grading procedures, and ensure that student understands that the instructor will submit the final examination to the provider for grading.
- 11. Answer student questions on an ongoing basis.

- 12. Review workbooks, computer records, etc. (these may vary according to the method of correspondence chosen by the student) with the student to ensure that the student has completed all assignments.
- 13. Conduct a review of the course to identify any course content which may require additional study.
- 14. Explain processing of final examination and notification by the provider of results if applicable.
- 15. Monitor the student while he or she takes the final course examination in an approved testing environment. A disinterested third party shall administer the final course examination.
- 16. Complete the student's certification form and ensure that both the instructor's and the student's signatures are executed. The instructor should attach the certification to the final examination answer sheet and send to the provider for grading.
- 17. Collect Examination Admission Ticket from student. The instructor should not alter the form at this time. If the student fails the final course examination, the instructor will be responsible for returning the form unaltered to the student.

Instructors Follow-Up Duties:

- 1. After receiving written notice of examination results from the correspondence course provider, notify the student of the results of the final course examination.
- 2. For passing candidates: prepare and send *Examination Admission Ticket* to the student.
- 3. For failing candidates, establish a schedule of studies with the student for reviewing the entire course. The instructor shall make arrangements for the student to retake the course final examination. If the student elects to discontinue course work through the program, the instructor should return the unaltered *Examination Admission Ticket*.
- 4. Submit to the program director, within ten (10) business days of receipt of examination results, the student's name and student identifier number assigned by the school, the "school copy" portion of the *Examination Admission Ticket*, and a copy of the student's passing or failing notice provided by the correspondence course provider.

SECTION .0700 - PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION (CURRENT CODE)

11 NCAC 06A .0701 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

(a) This Section applies to individuals attempting to obtain a resident license to solicit property, casualty, personal lines, life, accident and health, or sickness insurance in North Carolina except as specifically exempted by Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule.

(b) Individuals who are exempt from the requirement for a written examination pursuant to G.S. 58-33-35 are exempt from pre-licensing education requirements.

(c) Individuals holding one or more of the following insurance designations are exempt from prelicensing education requirements:

(1) Accident and health or sickness:

- (A) Registered Health Underwriter (RHU);
- (B) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS);
- (C) Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC); and
- (D) Health Insurance Associate (HIA).
- (2) Life:
 - (A) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC);
 - (B) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS); and
 - (C) Certified Financial Planner (CFP).
- (3) Property:
 - (A) Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI);
 - (B) Associate in Risk Management (ARM); and
 - (C) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC).
- (4) Casualty:
 - (A) Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI);
 - (B) Associate in Risk Management (ARM); and
 - (C) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC).
- (5) Personal lines:
 - (A) Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI);
 - (B) Associate in Risk Management (ARM); and
 - (C) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC).
- (6) Property, casualty, personal lines, life, accident and health or sickness:
 - (A) Holder of degree in insurance (associate or bachelors);
 - (B) An individual whose license in another state or jurisdiction for the same kind of insurance as that for which applied has been cancelled within 60 days of the Division's receipt of the letter of clearance and the individual's request for waiver of pre-licensing education; and
 - (C) An individual who is licensed in another state or jurisdiction for the same kind of insurance as that for which applied.

(d) If an applicant exempted from pre-licensing education under the provisions of Paragraph (c) of this Rule fails the examination, the applicant must successfully meet North Carolina's mandatory prelicensing education requirement prior to retaking the examination.

(e) In this Section, unless otherwise noted the following definitions apply:

- (1) "Classroom School" means an entity that provides pre-licensing education sponsored by a company, agency, association or educational institution by an instructor utilizing a teaching curriculum based on the outline.
- (2) "Correspondence Course" means home, self, individual, Internet or correspondence study utilizing programmed text instructions.
- (3) "Correspondence School" means an entity that provides pre-licensing education sponsored by a company, agency, association or educational institution through completion of a correspondence course that has been approved by the Commissioner, with students individually supervised by an approved instructor.
- (4) "Instructional Hour" means a 50-minute hour.
- (5) "Instructor" means an individual who meets the qualifications required by Rule .0705 of this Section:
 - (A) to instruct in a classroom school, who is responsible for preparation and presentation of lesson plans to assure that the outline is taught to that school's students, and who prepares a final course examination; and
 - (B) in a correspondence school to assist and supervise students in the completion of an approved correspondence or Internet course.
- (6) "Outline" means an instructor/examination content outline prepared and published by the Department in the "State of North Carolina Insurance Licensure Examination Candidate Guide".
- (7) "Program Director" means the individual associated with an approved classroom or correspondence school who is responsible for the administration of that school according to Rule .0702(1) of this Section.

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-30(d); 58-33-35; 58-33-132;

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; October 1, 1990;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016.

11 NCAC 06A .0702 PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION SCHOOLS

(a) This Rule applies to all classroom and correspondence schools offering a pre-licensing course prescribed by G.S. 58-33-30. All schools desiring to conduct a pre-licensing course shall be approved by the Commissioner before commencement of the courses.

(b) A school seeking approval to conduct a pre-licensing course shall make written application to the Commissioner.

(c) The Division shall approve a school when:

- (1) the school has submitted all information required by the Rules in this Section;
- (2) the course to be conducted complies with Rule .0704 of this Section;
- (3) the program director has been approved by the Commissioner in accordance with Rule .0703 of this Section; and
- (4) the school has a qualified instructor to teach each kind of insurance for which it is seeking approval.

(d) The Commissioner shall deny, revoke, suspend, or terminate approval of any school upon finding that:

- (1) the school has refused or failed to comply with any of the provisions of this Section;
- (2) any school official or instructor has obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any manner or form, licensing examination questions;
- (3) the school's students have a first-time licensing examination performance record that is below the average examination performance record of all first-time examination candidates;
- (4) the school has not conducted at least one pre-licensing course during any 12-month period; or
- (5) the school has refused or failed to submit information or properly completed forms prescribed by the Commissioner.

(e) In all proceedings to deny, revoke, suspend, or terminate approval of a school, the provisions of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes are applicable.

(f) When a school's approval is discontinued, the procedure for reinstatement is to apply as a new school, with a statement of the reasons that the school is now eligible for reconsideration.

(g) If a school's approval has been suspended upon the Commissioner's finding that the school has not conducted at least one pre-licensing course during any 12-month period that school may reapply after one year of suspension. At such time, the Commissioner shall give the school six months to conduct at least one pre-licensing course.

(h) A school shall notify the Commissioner of any change of course location or schedule information no fewer than five business days before the change. Notification of the changes shall be in writing.

(i) An approved school that intends to terminate its pre-licensing program shall notify the Commissioner in writing.

(j) A school shall notify the Commissioner in writing of a change of textbook.

(k) An approved school may use, for advertising or promotional purposes, examination performance data made available to the school by the Commissioner, provided that any data disclosed by the school shall be accurate, shall be presented in a manner that is not misleading, and shall:

- (1) be limited to the annual examination performance data for the particular school and for all examination candidates in the State; and
- (2) include the type of examination, the time period covered, the number of first-time candidates examined, and either the number or percentage of first-time candidates passing the examination.

(I) A classroom school's facilities and equipment shall have been found by appropriate local code inspectors to be in compliance with all applicable local, State and federal laws and regulations regarding safety, sanitation, and access by persons with disabilities.

(m) The school shall designate one person as the program director. The program director shall be responsible for administrative matters such as recruiting, evaluating and certifying the qualifications of instructors, developing programs, scheduling of classes, advertising, maintaining facilities and equipment, recordkeeping and supervising of the pre-licensing program.

(n) A school shall publish and provide to all pre-licensing students before enrollment a publication of that school that contains the following information:

(1) name of school and publication date;

- (2) name of sponsor;
- (3) all associated costs; and
- (4) an outline or description of all pre-licensing courses offered.

(o) With the exception of correspondence or Internet courses, a school shall file with the Commissioner information giving exact dates, times, locations, and instructor name for each scheduled pre-licensing course. This information may be submitted either at the beginning of each quarter or semester or no later than one week before the first class meeting of each pre-licensing course.

(p) Classroom schools shall retain the following material on file at one location for at least three years:

- (1) class schedules;
- (2) advertisements;
- (3) bulletins, catalogues, and other official publications;
- (4) grade reports, showing a numeric grade for each student;
- (5) attendance records;
- (6) master copy of each final course examination, indicating the answer key, the school name, course location, course dates and name of instructor;
- (7) list of student names and their license identifying numbers for each course, and the name of the instructor; and
- (8) student registration information.

All files shall be made available to the Commissioner upon request.

(q) Correspondence and Internet schools shall retain the following material on file at one location for at least three years:

- (1) advertisements;
- (2) bulletins, catalogues and other official publications;

(3) grade reports;

- (4) list of student names and their license identifying numbers for each course, and the name of the instructor;
- (5) student registration information that shall be obtained prior to the distribution of course material; and
- (6) student records to validate the integrity of the security measures utilized by the provider.

All files shall be made available to the Commissioner upon request.

(r) In the event of illness, injury or death of an instructor, the program director may use a qualified instructor to complete a course.

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-30(d); 58-33-132;

Eff. February 1, 1989; Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; April 1, 1996; November 1, 1990. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016.

11 NCAC 06A .0703 PROGRAM DIRECTORS

(a) All program directors shall be approved by the Commissioner in accordance with the provisions of this Section.

(b) A person desiring approval as a program director shall make written application to the Commissioner upon a form prescribed by the Commissioner.

(c) Applications must be endorsed by the president/chief operating officer of the sponsoring educational institution, company, agency or association. If the employing school is not currently approved by the Commissioner, an application for school approval shall be submitted along with the application for program director approval.

(d) The Commissioner shall approve an applicant as a program director upon finding that the applicant is recommended by the president/chief operating officer of the sponsoring educational institution, company, agency or association; has submitted all information required by the Commissioner; possesses good character and reputation; and:

- (1) Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has at least two years of experience as an instructor of insurance or as an educational administrator;
- (2) Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and has at least six years of experience in the insurance industry with a minimum of two years of experience in insurance management;
- (3) Is a full-time college or faculty member who regularly teaches risk management or insurance courses; or
- (4) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Rule.

(e) Program director approval shall be valid for an indefinite period, subject to future changes in laws or regulations regarding approval of program directors.

(f) The Commissioner shall deny, revoke, or suspend the approval of any program director upon finding that:

- (1) The program director fails to meet the criteria for approval provided by this Rule;
- (2) The program director has failed to comply with any provisions of this Section;
- (3) The program director's employment has been terminated by any sponsoring educational institution/company;
- (4) The program director provided false information to the Commissioner when making application for approval;
- (5) The program director has at any time had an insurance license denied, suspended or revoked by the North Carolina Department of Insurance or any other insurance department, or has ever been required to return a license while under investigation; or
- (6) The program director has obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any manner or form, examination questions.

(g) In all proceedings to deny, revoke, or suspend approval, the provisions of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes shall be applicable.

(h) When a program director's approval is discontinued, the procedure for reinstatement is to apply as a new program director, with a statement of the reasons that he is now eligible for reconsideration. The Commissioner may require an investigation before new approval is granted.

(i) An approved program director shall inform the Commissioner of any change in program affiliation by filing an application for program director approval prior to directing a new program.

(j) The program director is responsible for the actions of the approved school's instructors. History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-30(d); 58-33-132;

Eff. February 1, 1989; Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; October 1, 1990. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016.

11 NCAC 06A .0704 COURSES

(a) This Rule establishes minimum standards for property, casualty, personal lines, life, accident and health or sickness and Medicare supplement, and long term care insurance pre-licensing courses required under G.S. 58-33-30.

(b) Insurance pre-licensing programs shall comprise courses in the following subjects:

- (1) Accident and health or sickness;
- (2) Casualty;
- (3) Life;
- (4) Medicare supplement insurance and long-term care insurance;
- (5) Personal lines; and
- (6) Property.

(c) A school shall not offer a property, casualty, personal lines, life, accident and health or sickness course comprising fewer than 20 hours or a Medicare supplement and long term care course comprising fewer than 10 hours.

(d) The following requirements are course standards:

- (1) All courses shall consist of instruction in the subject areas described in G.S. 58-33-30(d)(2) and 58-33-30(d)(3).
- (2) Courses may also include coverage of related subject areas not prescribed by the Commissioner; however, such courses must provide additional class time, above the minimum requirement stated in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, for the coverage of such subject areas.
- (3) Pre-licensing courses shall be for instructional purposes only and not for promoting the interests of or recruiting employees for any particular insurance agency or company.
- (4) Schools shall establish and enforce academic standards for course completion that assure that students receiving a passing grade possess knowledge and understanding of the subject areas prescribed for the course. In any course for which college credit is awarded, the passing grade for such course shall be the same as the grade that is considered passing under the school's uniform grading system.
- (5) Schools shall conduct a final comprehensive course examination that covers all subject areas prescribed by the Commissioner for each course. Schools may allow a student to make up a missed examination or to retake a failed examination in accordance with policies adopted by the school. No final examination shall be given until a student has completed the instructional requirement.
- (6) Students shall attend a minimum of 20 hours of property, casualty, personal lines, life, accident and health or sickness instruction or a minimum of 10 hours of Medicare supplement and long term care instruction. Time set aside for breaks, pop-tests, quizzes, the final comprehensive course examination and other non-instructional activities shall not count toward the minimum instructional requirement. If a property, casualty, personal lines, life, accident and health or sickness course is scheduled for 25 or more instructional hours, a student shall attend at least 80 percent of the total hours offered by the course.
- (e) The following requirements shall be met for scheduling purposes:

- (1) Class meetings or correspondence courses shall be limited to a maximum of eight hours of instruction in any given day.
- (2) Classroom courses shall have fixed beginning and ending dates and may not be conducted on an open-entry/open-exit basis.
- (3) Correspondence or Internet courses shall not have fixed beginning and ending dates and shall be conducted on an open-entry basis.
- (f) The following shall apply to the use of text books:
 - (1) Choice of classroom course text is at the discretion of each school.
 - (2) Text books used in correspondence or Internet courses shall be approved by the Commissioner before use. No text book used in a correspondence course shall be approved unless it contains instruction in the subject areas described in G.S. 58-33-30(d)(2) and 58-33-30(d)(3).

(g) All pre-licensing classroom school courses shall be taught by instructors who meet the qualifications described in Rule .0705 of this Section.

(h) All pre-licensing correspondence courses shall be monitored by instructors who meet the qualifications described in Rule .0705 of this Section. An instructor shall be designated for each correspondence or Internet course student.

(i) The following certification of course completion procedures shall apply:

- (1) Schools shall validate each student who successfully completes a pre-licensing course with an Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion. The Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion shall not be validated for a student prior to completion of all course requirements and the passing of the course's comprehensive final examination.
- (2) An Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion shall be validated for each course successfully completed by a student. An Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion presented at the examination site that indicates completion of more than one course shall be invalid.
- (3) An Examination Admission Ticket/Certificate of Course Completion shall be valid for access to the examination for 90 days or a maximum of five examination attempts, whichever occurs first. If an applicant for a license does not successfully pass the examination within 90 days or five examination attempts in the 90-day period, the applicant shall again meet the pre-licensing education requirement to be eligible for the examination.
- History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-30(d); 58-33-132; Eff. February 1, 1989; Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; April 1, 1996; October 1, 1990.

11 NCAC 06A .0705 INSTRUCTORS

(a) Each instructor shall have the following qualifications which shall be verified by the instructor's prelicensing education school:

- (1) Accident and health or sickness; Medicare supplement insurance and long-term care insurance:
 - (A) Registered Health Underwriter (RHU);
 - (B) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS);
 - (C) Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC);
 - (D) Health Insurance Associate (HIA);
 - (E) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or explaining policies covering accident and health or sickness insurance, Medicare supplement insurance or long term care insurance;
 - (F) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or
 - (G) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section.
- (2) Life insurance and annuities:
 - (A) Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU);
 - (B) Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC);
 - (C) Fellow Life Management Institute (FLMI);
 - (D) Life Underwriter Training Council Fellow (LUTCF);
 - (E) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS);
 - (F) Certified Financial Planner (CFP):
 - (G) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or explaining life insurance policies, or annuities;
 - (H) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or
 - (I) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section.
- (3) Property insurance, casualty insurance, and personal lines:
 - (A) Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter (CPCU);
 - (B) Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI);
 - (C) Associate in Risk Management (ARM);
 - (D) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC);
 - (E) Five years of full-time experience as an employee, agent, or broker interpreting or explaining property insurance, casualty insurance, or personal lines policies;
 - (F) Holds an associate degree or bachelor's degree in insurance; or
 - (G) Has education and experience that are found by the Commissioner to be equivalent to the qualifications described in Rule .0703(d)(1) and (d)(2) of this Section.

(b) An applicant for instructor shall be determined qualified by the pre-licensing education school for each course taught in the pre-licensing curriculum.

(c) The Commissioner shall deny, revoke, suspend, or terminate the approval of an instructor upon finding that:

- (1) The instructor fails to meet the criteria for approval provided by this Rule;
- (2) The instructor has failed to comply with statutes or rules regarding pre-licensing courses or schools;
- (3) The instructor's employment has been terminated by any approved school on the grounds of incompetence or failure to comply with institutional policies and procedures;
- (4) The instructor provided false information to the Commissioner;
- (5) The instructor has at any time had an insurance license denied, suspended, revoked, or terminated, by the Commissioner or any other state insurance regulator, or has ever been required to return a license while under investigation;
- (6) The instructor has obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any manner or form, examination questions; or
- (7) The instructor's students have a first-time licensing examination performance record that is below the average examination performance record of all first-time examination candidates.

(d) In all proceedings to deny, revoke, suspend, or terminate approval of an instructor, the provisions of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes shall be applicable.

(e) When an instructor's approval is discontinued, the procedure for reinstatement shall be to apply as a new instructor, with a statement of reasons that he is now eligible for reconsideration. The Commissioner may require an investigation before new approval is granted.

(f) Instructors shall meet the requirements in 11 NCAC 06A .0808.

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-30(d); 58-33-132;

Eff. February 1, 1989; Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; April 1, 1996; October 1, 1990. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Please complete the "Application for School Approval" (2pages) included in this packet.

PLE Schools are **not** subject to an initial application fee or a renewal fee.

Classroom Course Submissions:

- 1) Application for School Approval (2 pages; no application fee)
- 2) Choice of classroom course textbook is at the discretion of each school. Therefore, it is not necessary to submit a copy.
- 3) Submit a copy of the final comprehensive examination with answer key.

All classroom pre-licensing courses shall be taught by qualified instructors.

Correspondence (Workbook Method) or Internet (Online) Course Submissions:

- 1) Application for School Approval (2 pages; no application fee)
- 2) Textbooks used for correspondence (workbook method) courses must be approved before use. Submit a copy of the textbook.
- 3) If it is an online course and a separate textbook is used, it must be approved before use. Submit a copy of the textbook.
- 4) For correspondence courses, submit a copy of the final comprehensive examination with answer key.
- 5) For online courses, submit the username and password for the Department to have full access to review the online course material and the final examination.

A qualified instructor shall be designated for each correspondence or Internet (online) course student.

Instructors must meet the qualifications listed in 11 NCAC 06A .0705. It is the responsibility of the prelicensing school to determine if an individual is qualified to be an instructor. In the case of an exception to 11 NCAC 06A .0705, the Department will determine if the individual is qualified.

All first-time Pre-licensing School applicants should complete the "Application for Program Director Approval" (2pages).

Mail completed applications to:

North Carolina Department of Insurance Agent Services Division 1204 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1204

-OR-

Email to: asd@ncdoi.gov



North Carolina Department of Insurance

APPLICATION FOR SCHOOL APPROVAL

TO CONDUCT INSURANCE PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION

| 3. | School Address (Complete Mailing Address) | | | | |
|----|--|--|------------------|--------------------------------------|-------------------|
| 4. | School Web Address | | | | |
| 5. | Student Contact Name | | 5. Email Address | | |
| 6. | | ity College Owned - Open to the Pu | | | Trade Association |
| 7. | Type of Course(s) Classroom | Correspondence | | Online | |
| | Course(s) Requesting Approval {Select Course(s) Life Accident and Health or Sickness Property Casualty Personal Lines Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care | and Provide all Requeste Requesting Approval Requesting Approval Requesting Approval Requesting Approval Requesting Approval Requesting Approval | ed Information} | (no) (no) (no) (no) (no) | |

I hereby certify that we will make Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guides available to insurance licensing candidates enrolled in our pre-licensing education program.

Signature of Program Director

9.



North Carolina Department of Insurance APPLICATION FOR SCHOOL APPROVAL (PAGE 2)

| 10. | I hereby certify that we will comply with the Federal Americans v sections of the ADA regarding classroom accessibility and auxiliary a | |
|-----|---|--|
| | Signature of Program Director | |
| 11. | Location(s) where classroom course(s) are to be conducted (provide attach additional sheet(s). | name of facility and address). If additional space is necessary, |
| | (1) | |
| | (2) | |
| | | |
| 12. | Full name of your Instructor(s) and the course(s) to be conducted. If | additional space is necessary, attach additional sheet(s). |
| | (1) | |
| | (2) | |
| | (3) | |
| 13. | Name of School/Company President or Chief Academic/Operating O | fficer |
| | Name (Print or Type) | (Title) |
| | Business Address (P. O. Box, City, State, Zip Code) | () Telephone Number |
| 14. | Certification of Program Director | |
| | I certify that I have read the Commissioner's Administrative Required school and its instructors will comply fully with the Commissioner's r courses. | |
| | Name (Print or Type) | Title |
| | Signature | |

AS-PL-4 (rev. 10-18)



North Carolina Department of Insurance

| 1. | Full Name |
|----|---|
| 2. | Residence Address Phone () |
| 3. | Business Address Phone () |
| 4. | Name and Street Address of Sponsoring Institution/Company |
| 5. | Qualifications (Check One) |
| 6. | If the answer to either question is "Yes", attach a statement providing complete details. 6a. Have you ever been denied an insurance license or had an insurance license or any other professional/occupational license suspended, revoked, or surrendered in North Carolina or elsewhere? 6b. Have you ever been convicted of any criminal offense (other than minor traffic offenses)? YES NO |
| 7. | Recommendation of School/Company President or Chief Academic/Operating Officer I hereby recommend that this applicant be approved as Program Director for the pre-licensing program being conducted by the sponsoring institution/company named in item #4 of this approval application form. |



North Carolina Department of Insurance

APPLICATION FOR PROGRAM DIRECTOR APPROVAL (PAGE2)

8. Education

| 8a. College or Uni | versity | | | |
|--------------------|-----------|-----------|----------------|----------------|
| Name | of School | Did You | Type of Degree | Dates Attended |
| | | Graduate? | | |
| | | | | |
| | | | | |
| | | | | |
| | | | | |
| | | | | |

8b. Professional Development Courses (e.g. courses sponsored by IIANC, CAPIA, or similar professional organizations. Do not list company/franchise/in-service training courses).

| Title of Course | Name of School | Subject Area(s) Covered | Number of Classroom Hours |
|-----------------|----------------|-------------------------|------------------------------|
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |

8c. College Insurance Courses

| Title of Course | Name of School | Subject Area(s) Covered | Number of Sem. Hrs | Credit Hours Qtr. hrs |
|-----------------|----------------|-------------------------|-----------------------|--------------------------|
| | | | | |
| | | | | |
| | | | | |

10. Signature of Applicant

I certify that the information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand that any omission, inaccuracy, or failure to make full disclosure constitutes ground for denial of approval or for suspension/revocation of approval if granted.

Date

Signature

PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION Schedule Reporting Form

In accordance with 11 NCAC 6A.0702(o), Insurance Pre-licensing Education classroom course schedule(s) may be submitted at the beginning of each quarter or semester but must be submitted no later than one week prior to the first class meeting.

NAME OF SCHOOL: **PROGRAM DIRECTOR (Signature)**: Instructor: __ Life _____ Accident & Health or Sickness _____ Property _____ Casualty Course(s): Personal Lines _____ Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care Physical location of class site: SCHEDULE Beginning Date: _____ Ending Date: _____ DAY BEGINNING AND ENDING HOUR AMOUNT OF TIME SCHEDULED FOR: Breaks(s) Lunch Exam(s) WEEK 1 MON TO TUE TO WED то THU то TO FRI SAT то то SUN NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: hr(s) min(s) **INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:** hr(s) min(s) DAY BEGINNING AND ENDING HOUR AMOUNT OF TIME SCHEDULED FOR: Breaks(s) Lunch Exam(s) WEEK 2 MON то TUE то WED TO THU то FRI то TO SAT SUN то

hr(s)

hr(s)

_____ min(s)

min(s)

NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME:

| WEEK 3 | | | |
|--------|-------------------------|----------|---------------|
| MON | то | | |
| TUE | то | | |
| WED | то | | |
| THU | то | | |
| FRI | то | | |
| SAT | то | | |
| SUN | то | | |
| | NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: | hr(s) | min(s) |
| | INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: | hr(s) | min(s) |
| WEEK 4 | | | |
| MON | то | | |
| TUE | 10 T0 | | |
| WED | то | | |
| THU | то | | |
| FRI | то | | |
| SAT | то | | |
| SUN | TO | | |
| | NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: | hr(s) | min(s) |
| | INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: | hr(s) | min(s) |
| WEEK 5 | | | |
| MON | то | | |
| TUE | то | | |
| WED | то | | |
| THU | то | | |
| FRI | 10 | | |
| SAT | 10 | | |
| SUN | TO | | |
| | | hr(s) | min(s) |
| | NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: | 111(3) | |
| | | hr(s) | min(s) |
| | | | |
| WEEK 6 | 70 | | |
| MON | TO | | |
| | TO | | |
| WED | TO | | |
| THU | TO | | |
| FRI | TO | | |
| SAT | TO | <u> </u> | |
| SUN | то | | |
| | NON-INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: | hr(s) | min(s) |
| | INSTRUCTIONAL TIME: | hr(s) | min(s) min(s) |
| | | | |

AS-PL-SRF (rev 12-18)

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q. Is it possible to be waived from the Pre-licensing requirement?

A. Yes, there are certain professional designations that waive pre-licensing. The student should refer to the North Carolina Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide or contact the Agent Services Division at (919) 807-6800 for more information.

Q. What are students required to bring to the test site?

A. Students are required to bring 2 forms of acceptable identification (e.g., government-issued driver license and signed, non-expired debit or credit card) and the completed Examination Admission Ticket signed by a Pre-licensing School. (For Adjusters, the Examination Admission Ticket is not signed by a Pre-licensing School).

The name on the identification and the name on the test registration must match. Otherwise, the student will not be allowed to test. Name and address changes are not allowed at the test site unless it is strictly a typo.

Q. I have a student who will have to answer "yes" to one of the screening questions. Could the student request to know if he/she would be issued a license prior to sitting for the state examination?

A. No, the student will have to complete the licensure process (application, examination and fingerprints), submit the documentation for the "yes" answer and await a decision on approval or disapproval of the license application.

Q. Could an Examination Admission Ticket be emailed to the student?

A. The Examination Admission Ticket may be emailed with an electronic signature. The Provider may be required to provide evidence that the document is encrypted such that it cannot be altered or duplicated. Tickets cannot be faxed to students.

Q. For how long is the Examination Admission Ticket valid?

A. The Examination Admission Ticket is valid for ninety (90) days from the date of course completion or five (5) examination attempts over the ninety (90) day period, whichever comes first. Students who do not pass an examination within ninety (90) days of the date of course completion or within 5 examination attempts over the ninety (90) day period, shall complete another pre-licensing education course at an approved school to be eligible to retake the examination.

Q. What license is required to apply for a Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care license?

A. The student must hold an Accident & Health and/or Sickness license to receive a Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care license after completing 10 hours of pre-licensing education and passing the state examination.

Q. Does the score report given after the licensing examination indicate the number of questions answered wrong or correctly?

A. No, the score report will either state "Pass" or "Fail". For students who fail an examination, the score report has a scaled numeric score and provides the area(s) from the content outline that the student did not test well.

Q. I have student who requires special accommodations for the licensing examination due to a disability. How would this student go about requesting those accommodations?

A. Accommodations for a licensing examination are considered on a case-by-case basis. To request accommodations with the appropriate documentation, go to the following webpage:

http://www.pearsonvue.com/accommodations/

Click on "How do I request a test accommodation?", then click on "Select your test program". Click on the letter "N", then scroll down to and click on "North Carolina Insurance".

Q. Are accommodations for the licensing examination available for a student where English is a second language?

A. Yes, the student can request additional time to complete the examination. The student should complete the "English as a Second Language (ESL) Request Form" found in the North Carolina Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide or online at <u>www.pearsonvue.com/nc/insurance</u> and submit it with supporting documentation to Pearson Vue.

Q. Does the Department monitor Pre-licensing courses?

A. The Department's Examiners randomly monitor classroom Pre-licensing and workbook/internet (online) Prelicensing to ensure the Pre-licensing Providers comply with the Statutes and Administrative Code.