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This agreed upon Consent Order is entered into on the a:’_‘_“d‘ay of February
2024 (the “effective date”) between the North Carolina Department of Insurance
(“the Department”) and Benjamin Roth Robertson, hereinafter referred to as
Respondent. The above-named persons may also be collectively referred to as the
“parties.”

JURISDICTION AND GENERAL FINDINGS

The Department is charged with the authority and responsibility for the
enforcement of insurance laws of this State and for regulating and licensing
Iinsurance agents.

This administrative proceeding was initiated against Respondent under
North Carolina General Statutes §§ 58-2-70, 58-33-32(k), 58-33-46, 150B-38, 150B-
40, 150B-41, 150B-42, 11 NCAC 1.0401 and 11 NCAC 06A.0201(a) et. seq., and
other applicable statutes and rules on January 24, 2024 pursuant to a Notice of
Hearing.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent holds a Non-Resident Producer license with authority for
Accident & Health or Sickness and Med Supp/Long Term Care lines of insurance.
Respondent’s National Producer License Number (NPN) is 8009950.




2 N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k) requires a producer to report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another
state within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter. The report “shall
include a copy of the order or consent order and other information or documents
filed in the proceeding necessary to describe the actions.”

3. Respondent failed to report administrative actions taken against him
by the Alaska, New Mexico, and Virginia insurance regulators to this Department
within 30 days.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Notice in this matter was timely and properly effected.

2. Respondent violated N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k) by failing to report
administrative actions taken against him by the Alaska, New Mexico, and Virginia
insurance regulators to this Department within 30 days.

3. Under N.C. Gen Stat. § 58-2-70, a penalty of five hundred dollars
($500.00) is warranted against Respondent for his violations of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-
33-32(k). '

4. Pursuant to N.C. Gen Stat. § 58-2-70(g), the Commissioner of
Insurance and the Department have the express authority to negotiate a mutually
acceptable agreement with any person as to the status of the person’s license or as
to any civil penalty.

5. The parties consent to the jurisdiction of the Commissioner to enter
this Order.
6. The parties consent to be bound by this Consent Order and understand

that it has the same binding authority as a final Order of the Commaissioner.
Respondent understands and agrees that his failure to comply with this Consent
Order may result in revocation of his license pursuant to N.C. Gen Stat. § 58-2-
48(a)(2) for having violated an Order of the Commissioner.

7. Respondent expressly waives his rights to a hearing and to any further
proceedings on this matter. Respondent also expressly waives his right to seek
judicial review or to otherwise challenge the validity of this Consent Order.



8. This written document contains the entire agreement between the
parties. There are no other oral or written agreements of any kind which alter or

add to this agreement.
IT IS THEREFORE, BY CONSENT, ORDERED as follows:

1. Respondent shall pay a civil penalty in the amount of five hundred
dollars to the Department. The civil monetary penalty shall be subject to
disbursement in accordance with the provisions of Article [X, Section 7 of the North
Carolina Constitution for the benefit of the public schools. Respondent shall pay
the civil penalty by attorney trust account check made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Insurance. The check shall accompany this Consent Order.
Upon receipt of this Consent Order by the Department, the Hearing Officer will
sign the Consent Order.

2. Respondent shall comply with all provisions of Chapter 58 of the North
Carolina General Statutes and Title 11 of the North Carolina Administrative Code
that are applicable to Respondent as a licensed insurance producer.

3. This Consent Order will take care of all violations alleged in the Notice
of Hearing dated January 24, 2024.

4. Each party to this Consent Order shall pay his or its own attorneys’

fees and expenses.

5 This Consent Order shall become effective after the Department
receives the payvment of the civil penalty and the Consent Order has been signed by

the parties and the Hearing Officer.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have duly executed this Consent Order
thisZ_{ Hay of February 2024.

Alisha Benjamin

Hearing Officer

N.C. Department of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
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Anne Kirby, Assistant Attorney General





