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NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF |
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLIN

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
COUNTY OF WAKE

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSURE VOLUNTARY SETTLEMENT
OF JONATHAN J. SHORR AGREEMENT

NOW COME Jonathan J. Shorr (hereinafter “*Mr. Shorr™) and the North Carolina Department of
Insurance (hereinafter “Department™), and hereby voluntarily and knowingly enter into the
following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Department has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of the
insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing of insurance agents, brokers, limited
representatives, adjusters and motor vehicle damage appraisers; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Shorr applied for a non-resident Public Adjuster’s license with the
Department on September 12, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Shorr’s application was denied by the Department on October 15,
2018, and Mr. Shorr requested a review of the Department’s action on October 16, 2018; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33A-45(a)(1) provides that the
Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a public
adjuster’s license or may levy a civil penalty in accordance with G.S. 58-2-70 or any
combination of actions for providing incorrect, misleading, incomplete or materially untrue
information in the license application; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Shorr answered “No” to the background question thereon: “Have you
ever been named or involved as a party in an administrative proceeding, including FINRA
sanction or arbitration proceeding regarding any professional or occupational license or
registration; and

WHEREAS, on or about February 14, 2013 the Florida Department of Financial
Services in a Consent Order placed Mr. Shorr, who held a Public Adjuster’s license in Florida,
on probation for six (6) months for charging a fee greater than the statutorily required limitation

for services rendered to a policyholder, and was ordered to make restitution in the amount of
$350.00; and
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WHEREAS, on or about April 18, 2018 in a Consent Order Mr. Shorr was fined by the
Florida Department of Financial Services in the amount of $7500.00 for charging his clients fees
for processing insurance checks resulting from claims wherein Mr. Shorr was acting as a Public
Adjuster in violation of Florida law, and was ordered to refund to each person so charged the
check processing fee of $350.00; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Shorr admits to this violation of North Carolina General Statute
§ 58-33A-90; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33A-45(a)(2) provides that the
Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any a public
adjuster’s license, or may levy a civil penalty in accordance with G.S.58-2-70 for violating any
insurance laws of this or any other state, violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of
the Commissioner or of another state’s regulator; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Shorr has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matter
referenced in this Agreement on behalf of himself, and the Department has agreed not to pursue
additional penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on this matter against Mr. Shorr;
and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve this matter by
consent before the Department initiates an administrative hearing, and have reached a mutually
agreeable resolution of this matter as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out
herein, Mr. Shorr and the Department hereby agree to the following:

I. Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Mr. Shorr shall pay a civil penalty of
$250.00 to the Department. The form of payment shall be by certified check, cashier’s
check or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil penalty
shall be payable to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Mr. Shorr shall remit
the civil penalty by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Department along with
a copy of this signed Agreement. The civil penalty and the signed Agreement must be
received by the Department no later than March 25, 2019 . The civil penalty shall be
subject to disbursement in accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the
North Carolina Constitution for the benefit of public schools.

2. Upon payment of the civil penalty and return of the signed Agreement to this Department
Mr. Shorr shall be issued a North Carolina non-resident Public Adjuster’s license; and

3. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Department’s disciplinary power in any
future examination of Mr. Shorr or in any other complaints involving Mr. Shorr.



Mr. Shorr enters into this Agreement, on behalf of himself, freely and voluntarily and
with the knowledge of his right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Mr.
Shorr understands he may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this Agreement.

The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and
effect of an Order of the Commissioner. Mr. Shorr understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33A-
45(a)(2) provides that a public adjuster’s license may be revoked for violating an Order
of the Commissioner.

This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential
by the Department. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Department to Mr. Shorr shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken against him.
The Department is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with third parties upon
request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The Department
routinely provides copies of voluntary settlement agreement to all companies that have
appointed the licensee.

The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and
conditions stated herein.

Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the N. C. Department of Insurance
has issued an occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you
to report this administrative action to it. The N.C. Department of Insurance cannot give
you legal advice as to the specific reporting requirements of other state or federal
regulators.

N. C. Department of Insurance

Deputy Commissioner
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