RECEIVED IN AGENT SERVICES
AS.-N.CD.Ol.

FEB 7 203

CHECK NO.
K AMT. 000
NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURA PROCESSOR

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER
COUNTY OF WAKE OF INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSURE VOLUNTARY SETTLEMENT

OF BECKY LOUISE SKELTON AGREEMENT

LICENSE NO. 0016961325

NOW COME, Becky Louise Skelton (hereinafter “Ms. Skelton”) and the Agent Services Division of the
N.C. Department of Insurance (hereinafter “Agent Services Division”), and hereby voluntarily and
knowingly enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Agent Services Division has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of
the insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing insurance agents; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Skelton currently holds a Non-Resident Producer’s license with authority for
Life and Accident & Health or Sickness lines of insurance and a Medicare Supplement Long-Term Care
Insurance license issued by the Agent Services Division; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by another
governmental agency in this State, including enforcement actions taken against the producer by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter;
and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Department of Insurance denied Ms. Skelton’s non-resident insurance
producer license application in an administrative proceeding, effective July 21,2022, for providing
incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or untrue information on the application regarding past criminal history
by not including information of a prior misdemeanor conviction for “Disturbing the Peace”, effective
December 17,2012, in the Sparks Criminal Court (NV), Case No. 11-CR-1340); and

WHEREAS, Ms. Skelton failed to report the administrative action taken by the Kansas
Department of Insurance within 30 days after the final disposition of that matter as required by North
Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k), and therefore, was in violation thereof; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Skelton admits to this violation of North Carolina General Statute
§ 58-33-32(k); and



WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the Commissioner
may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license issued under Article 58
of the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law of this or any other state,
violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s regulator;
and

WHEREAS, N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-70 provides that whenever the Commissioner has reason to
believe that any person has violated any law that would subject the license or certification of that person
to suspension or revocation, the Commissioner is authorized, in lieu of a hearing, to negotiate a mutually
acceptable agreement as to the status of the person’s license or certificate or to any civil penalty or
restitution; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Skelton has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matter referenced in
this Agreement on behalf of herself, and the Agent Services Division has agreed not to pursue additional
civil ramifications, including penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on this matter against Ms.
Skelton; and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve this matter by consent before
the Agent Services Division initiates an administrative hearing and have reached a mutually agreeable
resolution of this matter as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out herein,
Ms. Skelton and the Department hereby agree to the following:

1. Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Ms. Skelton shall pay a civil penalty of $250.00
to the Agent Services Division. The form of payment shall be by certified check, cashier’s check,
or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil penalty shall be payable
to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Ms. Skelton shall remit the civil penalty by
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Agent Services Division along with a copy of this
signed Agreement. The civil penalty and the signed Agreement must be received by the
Department no later than February 09 .2023 . The civil penalty shall be subject to disbursement
in accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina Constitution for
the benefit of public schools.

2. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Agent Services Division’s disciplinary power in
any future examination of Ms. Skelton or in any other complaints involving Ms. Skelton.

3. Ms. Skelton enters into this Agreement, on behalf of herself, freely and voluntarily and with the
knowledge of her right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Ms. Skelton understands
she may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this Agreement.

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and effect of an
Order of the Commissioner. Ms. Skelton understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides
that a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of the Commissioner.

5. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential by the
Agent Services Division. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Agents Services Division to Ms. Skelton shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken



against her. The Agent Services Division is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with
third parties upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The
Agent Services Division, upon request, routinely will provide a copy of the voluntary settlement
agreement to companies that have appointed the licensee.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and
conditions stated herein.

7. Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the Agent Services Division has issued an
occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you to report this
administrative action to it. The Agent Services Division cannot give you legal advice as to the
specific reporting requirements of other state or federal regulators.
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