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NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER
COUNTY OF WAKE OF INSURANCE
IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSURE VOLUNTARY SETTLEMENT
OF VALENCIA P. TRICE AGREEMENT

LICENSE NO. 0018170022

NOW COME, Valencia P. Trice (hereinafter “Ms. Trice™) and the Agent Services Division of the N.C.
Department of Insurance (hereinafter “Agent Services Division™), and hereby voluntarily and knowingly
enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Agent Services Division has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of
the insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing insurance agents; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Trice currently holds a non-resident producer’s license with authority for
Property and Casualty lines of insurance issued by the Department; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report to the
Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by another
governmental agency in this State, including enforcement actions taken against the producer by the
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter;
and

WHEREAS, the Indiana Department of Insurance suspended Ms. Trice’s producer’s license,
effective April 28, 2021, as a result of a complaint investigation which according to the Indiana
Department demonstrated a lack of fitness or trustworthiness on Ms. Trice’s part; and

WHEREAS, the State of Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner, in an administrative
proceeding effective July 12,2021, revoked Ms. Trice’ non-resident producer’s license for failure to
timely report an administrative action taken by the Indiana Department of Insurance in which her
producer’s license was suspended, and for failure to respond to Department inquiries; and

WHEREAS, the California Department of Insurance, effective October 15,2021, revoked Ms.
Trice’s producer’s license on the basis of other state’s action taken against Ms. Trice’s producer’s license:
and

WHEREAS, Ms. Trice failed to report the administrative actions taken by Indiana, Washington,
and California within 30 days after the final disposition of those matters as required by North Carolina
General Statute § 58-33-32(k), and therefore, was in violation thercof: and



WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the Commissioner
may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license issued under Article 58
of the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law of this or any other state,
violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another state’s regulator:
and

WHEREAS, N. C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-70 provides that whenever the Commissioner has reason to
believe that any person has violated any law that would subject the license or certification of that person
to suspension or revocation, the Commissioner is authorized, in lieu of a hearing, to negotiate a mutually
acceptable agreement as to the status of the person’s license or certificate or to any civil penalty or
restitution; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Trice has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matters referenced in
this Agreement on behalf of herself, and the Agent Services Division has agreed not to pursue additional
civil ramifications, including penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on these matters against
Ms. Trice: and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve these matters by consent
before the Agent Services Division initiates an administrative hearing and have reached a mutually
agreeable resolution of these matters as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out herein,
Ms. Trice and the Department hereby agree to the following:

I Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Ms. Trice shall pay a civil penalty of $750.00 to
the Agent Services Division. The form of payment shall be by certified check, cashier’s check, or
money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil penalty shall be payable to
the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Ms. Trice shall remit the civil penalty by certified
mail, return receipt requested, to the Agent Services Division along with a copy of this signed
Agreement. The civil penalty and the signed Agreement must be received by the Department no
later than January 10,2023 . The civil penalty shall be subject to disbursement in accordance

with the provisions of Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina Constitution for the benefit of
public schools.
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This Agreement does not in any way affect the Agent Services Division’s disciplinary power in
any future examination of Ms. Trice or in any other complaints involving Ms. Trice,

3. Ms. Trice enters into this Agreement, on behalf of herself, freely and voluntarily and with the
knowledge of her right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Ms. Trice understands
she may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this Agreement.

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and effect of an
Order of the Commissioner. Ms. Trice understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that
a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of the Commissioner.

5. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential by the
Agent Services Division. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Agents Services Division to Ms. Trice shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken against



her. The Agent Services Division is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with third
parties upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The Agent
Services Division, upon request, routinely will provide a copy of the voluntary settlement
agreement to companies that have appointed the licensce.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and
conditions stated herein.

7. Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the Agent Services Division has issued an
occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you to report this
administrative action to it. The Agent Services Division cannot give you legal advice as to the
specific reporting requirements of other state or federal regulators.

N. C. Department of Insurance
Agent Services Division

_____ —

By: Valencia P. Trice By: Angela Hatchell
License No. 0018170022 Deputy Commissioner

GELA HANTHR O

Date: (2/7/22 Date: | / 25’/ 2023





