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NOW COME, Danicl S. Valentine (hereinafter “Mr. Valentine”) and the North Carolina
Department of Insurance (hereinafter “Department™), and hereby voluntarily and knowingly
enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement”).

WHEREAS, the Department has the authority and responsibility for enforcement of the
insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing insurance agents; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine currently holds a non-resident producer’s license with
authority for Life and Accident & Health or Sickness lines of insurance issued by the
Department; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k) requires producers to report
to the Commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another state or by
another governmental agency in this State, including enforcement actions taken against the
producer by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), within 30 days after the final
disposition of the matter; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine failed to notify the California Department of Insurance of a
change in background information because of a misdemeanor criminal conviction in Arizona,
and thereby denied Mr. Valentine’s application for an unrestricted non-resident producer’s
license effective April 23, 2016, but in the alternative issued Mr. Valentine a restricted license
and placed him on probation, and such action was not reported to this Department in a timely
manner; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine was fined by the Indiana Department of Insurance in the
amount of $250.00 effective July 22, 2016 for late reporting of criminal process as required by
Indiana law, and such administrative action was not reported to this Department in a timely
manner; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine entered into a Consent Order with the Delaware Department
of Insurance effective January 31, 2017 and was assessed a monetary penalty in the amount of



$500.00 for failure to timely report other state’ actions, and such administrative action was not
reported to this Department in a timely fashion; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine was fined by the Louisiana Department of Insurance in the
amount of $250.00 effective July 24, 2017 for late reporting of other states’ actions, and such
administrative action was not reported to this Department in a timely manner; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine did not report these administrative actions taken against his
insurance producer’s license within 30 days after the final disposition of those matters as
required by North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-32(k), and therefore was in violation thereof:
and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine admits to these violations of North Carolina General Statute
§ 58-33-32(k); and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute § 58-33-46(a)(2) provides that the
Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew any license
issued under Article 58 of the General Statutes of North Carolina for violating any insurance law
of this or any other state, violating any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the
Commissioner or of another state’s regulator; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Valentine has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matters
referenced in this Agreement on behalf of himself, and the Department has agreed not to pursue
additional penalties, sanctions, remedies, or restitution based on these matters against Mr.
Valentine; and

WHEREAS, the parties to this Agreement mutually wish to resolve these matters by
consent before the Department initiates an administrative hearing, and have reached a mutually
agreeable resolution of this matter as set out in this Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exchange for the consideration and promises and agreements set out
herein, Mr. Valentine and the Department hereby agree to the following:

1. Immediately upon the signing of this Agreement, Mr. Valentine shall pay a civil penalty
of $1000.00 to the Department. The form of payment shall be by certified check,
cashier’s check or money order. The check or money order for the payment of this civil
penalty shall be payable to the “North Carolina Department of Insurance.” Mr. Valentine
shall remit the civil penalty by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Department
along with a copy of this signed Agreement. The civil penalty and the signed Agreement
must be received by the Department no later than March 30, 2018. The civil penalty
shall be subject to disbursement in accordance with the provisions of Article IX, Section
7 of the North Carolina Constitution for the benefit of public schools.

2. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Department’s disciplinary power in any
future examination of Mr. Valentine or in any other complaints involving Mr. Valentine.




3. Mr. Valentine enters into this Agreement, on behalf of himself, freely and voluntarily and
with the knowledge of his right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Mr.
Valentine understands he may consult with an attorney prior to entering into this
Agreement.

4. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force and
effect of an Order of the Commissioner. Mr. Valentine understands that N.C.G.S. § 58-
33-46(a)(2) provides that a producer’s license may be revoked for violating an Order of
the Commissioner.

5. This Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and will not be held confidential
by the Department. Following the execution of this Agreement, all licenses issued by the
Department to Mr. Valentine shall reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken against
him. The Department is free to disclose the contents of this Agreement with third parties
upon request or pursuant to any law or policy providing for such disclosure. The
Department routinely provides copies of voluntary settlement agreement to all companies
that have appointed the licensee.

6. The parties have read and understand this Agreement and agree to abide by the terms and
conditions stated herein.

7. Be aware that if a state or federal regulator other than the N. C. Department of Insurance
has issued an occupational or professional license to you, that regulator may require you
to report this administrative action to it. The N.C. Department of Insurance cannot give
you legal advice as to the specific reporting requirements of other state or federal
regulators.

N. C. Department of Insurance

By: Daniel S. ine By: Teresa Knowles
License No. 0000661010 Deputy Commissioner
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