NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER
OF INSURANCE
COUNTY OF WAKE
IN THE MATTER OF ORDER AND FINAL AGENCY
THE LICENSURE OF DECISION
RICHARD V. WILSON Docket Number: 1817

THIS matter was heard on Wednesday, J anuary 25, 2017, by the undersigned Hearing
Officer, designated by the Commissioner of Insurance (hereinafter “Commissioner”) under N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 58-2-55, pursuant to a Notice of Hearing that was duly issued and served.

The North Carolina Department of Insurance Agent Services Division (hereinafter,
“Agent Services”) was represented by Assistant Attorney General M. Denise Stanford. Agent
Services Complaint Analyst Jeffrey O’Bannon testified on behalf of Agent Services.

Respondent Richard V. Wilson (hereinafter “Respondent™), was not present and was not
represented by counsel.

The Department offered into evidence Exhibits 1 through 8, and said documents were
admitted into evidence.

After careful consideration of the evidence and arguments presented, and based on the
record as a whole, the undersigned Hearing Officer hereby makes the following Findings of Fact
and Conclusions of Law:

Findings of Fact

1. The Amended Notice of Administrative Hearing was properly served on
Respondent on December 20, 2016. The Amended Notice of Administrative Hearing and
Affidavit of Service were admitted into evidence as Exhibits 1 and 2, with attachments 2A and

2B.

2. At all relevant times herein, Respondent held a Non-resident Producer License
(“License™) with lines of authority in Casualty and Property, License number 0001957456, A
copy of the Licensee Summary was admitted into evidence as Exhibit 3.

3. On September 17, 2010, Respondent applied for a North Carolina Non-resident
Producer License. A copy of the application was admitted into evidence as Exhibit 4.



4. On the application, Respondent answered “no” in response to question number 1
of the application, “Have you ever been convicted of a crime, had a judgment withheld or
deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a crime?” Respondent failed to disclose
on the application an October 7, 2009 conviction for improper handling of a firearm in a motor
vehicle. A certified copy of the criminal complaint, affidavit, and disposition were admitted into
evidence as Exhibit 5.

5. On February 5, 2013, Respondent was convicted in federal court of conspiracy to
distribute/possess with intent to distribute cocaine and cocaine base (crack), a felony. A copy of
the judgment in the criminal case was admitted into evidence as Exhibit 6.

6. Respondent did not notify the Commissioner in writing within ten (10) days after
the date of conviction of the crime.

Fo On February 25, 2015, the Department of Insurance of the State of Ohio took
administrative action against Respondent by fining him $1500.00. The administrative action was
served on Respondent on February 27, 2015. A certified copy of the Notice of Opportunity for
Hearing and Order from the Department of Insurance of the State of Ohio were admitted into
evidence as Exhibit 7.

8. On November 13, 2015, the Insurance Department of the State of Delaware took
administrative action against Respondent by revoking his producer license and fining him
$500.00. A certified copy of the Final Decision and Order from the Insurance Department of the
State of Delaware was admitted into evidence as Exhibit 8.

9. Respondent did not report the administrative actions taken by the Department of
Insurance of the State of Ohio and the Insurance Department of the State of Delaware to the
Commissioner within thirty (30) days after final disposition of the matters.

Conclusions of Law

i & This matter is properly before the Commissioner. The Commissioner has
Jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter pursuant to Chapter 58 of the North Carolina
General Statutes.

2. Respondent was properly served with the Amended Notice of Administrative
Hearing.

3. N.C. Gen. Stat § 58-33-46(a)(1) authorizes the Commissioner to take disciplinary
action against a license holder if the licensee has provided materially incorrect, mi sleading,
incomplete, or materially untrue information in the license application.



4. Respondent’s failure to disclose on his licensure application the October 7, 2009
conviction for improper handling of a firearm in a motor vehicle subjects his License to
disciplinary action pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(1).

3. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-69(c) requires a licensee to notify the Commissioner in
writing within 10 (ten) days after the date of a conviction of any crime or offense other than a
motor vehicle infraction.

6. Respondent’s failure to notify the Commissioner in writing within ten (10) days
of the February 5, 2013 conviction in federal court of conspiracy to distribute/possess with intent
to distribute cocaine and cocaine base (crack), a felony, constituted a violation of N.C. Gen. Stat.

§ 58-2-69(c).

7 N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(6) authorizes the Commissioner to take disciplinary
action against a license holder if the licensee has been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor
involving dishonesty, a breach of trust, or moral turpitude.

8. Respondent’s conviction in federal court of conspiracy to distribute/possess with
intent to distribute cocaine and cocaine base (crack), a felony, subjects his License to disciplinary
action pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(6). -

9. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k) requires a producer to report to the Commissioner
any administrative action taken against the producer in another state by another governmental
agency in this State within thirty (30) days after the final disposition of the matter.

10.  Respondent’s failure to report to the Commissioner the administrative actions
taken against him by the Department of Insurance of the State of Ohio and the Insurance
Department of the State of Delaware constituted violations of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-32(k).

11. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(2) authorizes the Commissioner to take disciplinary
action against a license holder if the licensee has violated any insurance law of this or any other
state, violated any administrative rule, subpoena, or order of the Commissioner or of another
state’s insurance regulator, or violated any rule of FINRA.

12. Respondent’s violations of N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 58-2-69(c) and 58-33-32(k) subject
his License to disciplinary action pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-33-46(a)(2).






CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY, that I have this day served a copy of the foregoing Order and
Final Agency Decision by mailing a copy of same by certified mail, return receipt requested in
an envelope addressed to the Respondent as follows:

Richard V. Wilson

1854 Grasmere Ave.
E. Cleveland, OH 44112-3412

This the 30th day of January, 2017.

. Denise Stanford
Assistant Attorney Gerleral
N.C. Department of Justice
P.O. Box 629
Raleigh, N.C. 27602-0629
Tel.: 919-716-6610






