In a Disaster

Hurricane Dorian

Insurance Commissioner Mike Causey has ordered activation of NCDOI’s Disaster Mediation Program, following the President’s October 4, 2019 declaration of disaster for North Carolina in Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington counties.

Bulletin 19-B-06

Signed Order

On October 17, 2019 Insurance Commissioner Causey issued an order that activated the state of disaster automatic stay of proof of loss requirements, and premium and debt deferrals as authorized under the provisions of NCGS 58-2-46 for residents of Beaufort, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Tyrell, and Washington counties in North Carolina.

Bulletin 19-B-04

Signed Order

Flood Insurance

Homeowners insurance policies DO NOT cover flood damage. If you live in a flood plain, near a river or if you live near the coast, you should consider purchasing flood insurance for your home.

Learn more